'Carpenters of Galilee' - This unique handcarved Mandolin is made entirely from offcuts!

in #music5 years ago (edited)

20190912_173556.jpg

Sometimes I surprise myself with some of the things I come out with.. like this mandolin I just finished. I've never seen one like it. I can't stop staring at it, thinking 'wow! Where did that come from?' Some weird, gothic part of my subconscious imagination, maybe..

20190912_172601.jpg

Partly because of the difficulty of importing materials (see my earlier post, 'the customs man and the box of wood') but also because of the problem of deforestation, I'm always looking for more locally sourced materials and sustainable ways of making instruments. This mandolin is made entirely from offcuts scavenged from local carpenters in the area of Galilee where I live.

20190912_172947.jpg

The soundboard is Spruce - an offcut from a roof beam.
The back, sides, tailpiece and bridge are from Bubinga - left over from a table. It's one of the hardest woods I've worked with and has the most amazing burgundy colour.
Veneers are leftovers from a door making factory.
The neck is made from an old mahogany post.
Bits of maple and ebony are off cuts from my guitars. Maybe that's cheating, I don't know. Anyway I never throw anything away and I'm a sort of carpenter after all.

20190912_173159.jpg

Making a carved instrument is much more work than a flat top, but it's worth it just for the way it reflects the light. It sounds very full and round too.

20190912_172834.jpg

Scale length 370mm
'Golden-aged', natural shellac french polish finish.

20190912_172036.jpg

You can read all about the customs man and the box of wood here:

https://steemit.com/guitar/@stillgideon/the-customs-man-and-the-box-of-wood

Thanks for your support

Sort:  

Wow sensational, I will be amazed, with no more words to say. Congratulations on your work, you are really an artist.

you might consider tagging this with tunes tag since its of interest to musicians

Good idea. Thanks

Simply stunning! Amazing creative talent u have gideon xxx and all made from offcutsm too!! Wow

Congratulations @stillgideon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

@stillgideon, Humans are great Craftsmen and they know how to come up with Hand Made Art pieces.

Wow that is really nice craftsmanship, what's she sound like?

Posted using Partiko Android

This is gorgeous! I would love to hear it played :)

*On a side note, I'm not sure you've heard about steem tribes yet but if you add the tags palnet (general interest) and creative coin ) (for art, music etc) you will show up on those frontends and make some extra tokens. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I wish I had a wonderful instrument, like this!

I suddenly have a hankering to hear a lilting 16th century mandolin and flute concerto. GORGEOUS!! I can't even imagine the positive karmic vibe you create every time you PLAY this beauty!!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

It's spectacularly beautiful! I can hear its round sound. And no, it is not cheating to re-purpose parts of musical instruments as parts of musical instruments. Excellent post, thank you for putting it and your instrument all together.