IAH - Iah (2017)

in #music6 years ago

This is another one that I had to listen to twice in order to decide whether it would work better at OTHERWORLDLY MUSIC or here at MINDMELTINGMUSIK. When the album starts, it definitely seems more like the latter, but then it gets pleasantly stoner metal.

There are six songs on this eponymous instrumental album, and the liner notes indicate that they were tracked live, which is impressive. I'd be curious to hear how many times they had to play it to track it live. If it was only one... well then color me more impressed, I suppose.

Groovy psych/post-rock parts are woven throughout this album, and there's a lot of clean of guitar actually. Before you know it, the distortion pedal is kicked back on, and the riffs take a turn for the sinister.

If I'm being honest, I may prefer the calmer moments just a little. Not to say they don't shine as a fuzztastik riffmachine, because they do. The vibe that the calmer parts have might just fit my Sunday morning (edit: posting Monday now instead, but similar vibe because every day is actually pretty similar for me) mind a little better. Sometimes that's all it comes down to.

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://mmm.cannuration.space/index.php/2018/10/22/iah-iah-2017/