Hanging Up Dad's Old Records with @storybird

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Records_12.jpg

Hanging Up Dad's Old Records with @storybird


Recently, I've been learning a little bit more about records and wanted to share the process of going through my dad's old collection.

Dad's Old Desk


My dad used to be in a band and collected a lot of music equipment over the years. There was a bin of records stored vertically under his old desk. They had been sitting there for as long as I can remember. When I was a toddler, I used to sort through them over and over again, but I didn't know who any of the artists were. Now that a couple of decades have passed, I have grown to appreciate them in a new way.

Records_6.jpg

Fingerprints


I really love being able to have these particular records versus buying them new at the store, because they have been in my family and were purchased near the original release dates. Because of this, there is a stronger emotional connection I have with them. The feeling and smell of the dusty sleeves are so powerful in their own way. How bizarre to see my someone's fingerprints on them from maybe 40 years ago! When I saw the fingerprints, I wanted to be able to travel back in the time to the location that the fingerprints were created. Whose fingerprints were on the records? Was it being played for a casual listening session or at a party for a crowd of people? Maybe reference for band rehearsal? The fingerprints are stories all on their own!

I don't have a record player...yet!


When I get a record player of my own one day (hopefully one that is affordable but high-quality enough to fit my growing interest), I will listen to the records instead of hanging them. I considered keeping my dad's records in the sleeves until I had the tools to listen to them, but when I pulled them out, they seemed to be slightly worn already. For now, I will just enjoy them through sight!

Framing the Records


The hunt for frames began. I wanted something affordable, minimalistic, and timeless. I found some at a couple of furniture stores that I liked, but for several records, I needed something more cost effective. I called IKEA and found a 12.5x12.5 aluminum frame (called the LOMVIKEN model) that they had 200+ in stock of, so I went to take a look and ended up getting a dozen.

Records_11.jpg

When I got home, I picked a dozen records from the collection and began the framing process! I carefully removed the dust from each one (with a cat in the house, any new activity you do seems to capture their interest! Cat hairs kept sticking to the pane of the frame, but I eventually got through all 12 of them). I laid the mat down, made sure the record was as centered as possible on top of it, laid down the pane, placed the silver frame on top, then flipped it over quickly to secure the backing. The mat that came with the frame was thick enough to push the record against the pane from behind, keeping the record suspended in the center. I placed the records a little higher than I needed to in case gravity brought them down over time, but they seem to have been holding over the last couple of weeks.

Hanging the Records


There are so many configurations someone could dream of when hanging records. Part of me wanted to do a simple vertical grid of 3x4, but I'm that person where if something is slightly crooked, I have to adjust it! Knowing I wanted to avoid precise placement, I looked over at the stairs and knew that the time spent going up and down the steps could be like journeying through a tunnel of music and family history. The wall on the left has a record for ever other step, and the wall on the right does the same, but staggers with the left wall. I probably would have just aligned them on the same steps left and right, but having been a group choreographer for several years, my first instinct was to do staggered lines! Windows, windows, windows!

Records_7.jpg

Records_1.jpg

Are there records hiding somewhere in your house? It might be fun to dig them up and give them a listen (or hang them)!

Steemians, thanks so much for reading!

Ca-caw!

Sort:  

This looks really great at the walls! and WOW, IKEA having these frames for records? Vinyl becoming somewhat more popular again, but still, not a lot of music is released on vinyl anymore, hence my surprise on IKEA and the frame hahaha. Will you decorate more then your stair walls?

Thanks so much, @qsounds! Oh yes, I have so many more! I will probably do a second post come the time and possibly feature the album art as well : )

What a fabulous idea! I'm really curious now to know what the twelve records are.

(Speaking of staggered lines, I was on a lower podium than most of the choir last night and when I looked up at them, the front row were all bunched together in a straight line with no space between any of them and I wanted to go up there and stagger them. But it's a much more casual way of doing things, and I have to curb my tendencies!)

I will definitely be featuring some of them in the future, @kiwideb! Some of them include BeeGees, Madonna, Rolling Stones, etc. :)

Ah, so the types of things I had in my own record collection, when I still had records. MY Dad had a bunch of old 78s. If I still had those, they could be framed, but would never be listened to, since modern stereos don't allow for 78s. That's probably why they are long gone.

Excellent article and great pictures. Your dad will low key look like a music mogul with all those records on the wall haha

Thanks, @mateonav53! He really likes them but his first reaction was, "where are all of my album sleeves??" Haha.

haha the sleeves are important but they're gonna look good on that wall!

You need to share which records are there! I see only Michael Jackson - Thriller.

For sure! I'm doing a post next week to feature them :)

@scuzzy

Hi nice record I like this. Follow and upvote my blogs

Your article got selected by the IINC team and is featured in the "Curator's Choice" series. Congrats!

That is so exciting - thank you so much, @qsounds! I'll be doing an article next week interviewing my dad and going more into detail about the records.

Congratulations @storybird! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

So cool, thank you, @steemitboard!

thx for sharing this whit us !! seeya and have fun !