What "Punk" Means To A "Punk Chick!"

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hey all. So after a very draining (and drunken) debate with so-called "music enthusiast" last night about what "Punk" is, I thought it would be a good topic for my first "official" post.

punk.jpg

So here's the deal. If you're going by the crusty-ass definition of Punk it will tell you that it is:

"Short or fast-paced songs, with hard-edged melodies and singing styles, stripped-down instrumentation, and often political, anti-establishment lyrics."

B-O-R-I-N-G!

True it is a genre of music, but it's also so much more than that!

All of my life (all 35 years of it that is) Punk has been more than the music. It's an attitude! A way of life! A "fuck you" to everything that's about conformity and rules!

Chica-Punk-1-de-1.jpg

Some people think it's a style, like a "Punk look!" But it's so much more than that. Even though a lot of "punks" have tatoos, piercings, and wild hair, It's not some damn costume you pick up at the nearest "Hot Topic!"

You can be completely clean cut and still be fucking punk. It's "who you are," not what your look like!

But, it is about the music as well.

WHERE IT ALL BEGAN FOR ME

punk-is-not-dead.jpg

There's debate about who started the Punk movement:

  • The New York Dolls
  • The Ramones
  • The Sex Pistols
  • The Clash

But for me? Punk started right here:

The first time I heard this song, I was about 8 years old, in the car with my mom. And when it finished I made her replay it about ten times!

It kicked my young, impressionable ass!

This is where my love affair of Punk began!

I remember by 13, I was the girl in school with green hair, with the Dead Kennedys tshirt that kicked it with the "burn-outs." (Good Times!)

BUT

Even though I loved these bands, I realized that current music had become stale and generic shit! Then something changed for me when I heard NWA's "Straight Outta Compton," and Ice T's "Body Count!"

1990NWAPhotoshot250815.hero_.jpg

It was that same angst and rebellious message told in a different way: Rap!

So the question I asked myself was:

"Can Punk be cross genres?"

Punk is about saying something new. Being true to who you are. Not selling out. And not giving a shit what people think about you!

And these "Rap" groups where doing just that... (At the time).

SO BACK TO MY DRUNKEN DEBATE

I can go "toe to toe" with anybody when it comes to topic of Punk, Rock, and Metal. But for me, it's more about the feeling of the music and what it inspires in me!

Photo Aug 26, 12 16 13 PM.jpg

It was because of this music, and the spirit of rebellion that I pursued a career in a male dominated field like "Tech." It was the reason I was able to come out to my parents at a very young age as bi-sexual. And it is the reason why I've never taken anybody's shit! So...

"WHAT IS PUNK?"

Fuck You!... That's what!

(Kidding guys... but you get the point.)

Sort:  

Congratulations @suicidalviral! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great article ! :)
What I love about this is that you have the punk style on one hand (clothes, music, etc) and being punk which doesn't necessarily involves having interest in the punk style.
We need more and more punkness in our societies and it's great to find so much of it on Steemit ;)
Cheers !