Can you feel the music?

in #music7 years ago (edited)

“And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music.” - Friedrich Nietzsche 

One person that definitely does hear - and feel - the music is Matt Steffanina. Watching his videos is like listening to Justin Timberlake: you CAN´T STOP THE FEELING. 

@MattSteffanina

Matt is a professional dancer, choreographer and teacher from Los Angeles (California).
It seems that besides his unique dancing style he is loved for being a cool and handsome guy. 

Matt has already danced in numerous music videos, films and TV shows. He is the choreographer for EMI artist Fawni, and has worked with famous artists such as Snoop Dogg, Chris Brown, DJ Tiesto, Busta Rhymes and more.

The alround talent currently teaches weekly at the International Dance Academy in Hollywood as well as hip hop classes to all ages and skill levels around the world. The corresponding tour dates are announced in his several social media channels where he is followed by a huge number of dance addicts.  

Matt Steffanina: "My goal is to make dance available to everyone regardless of your location or finances." 

And he is accomplishing that. 

Many aspiring dancers don´t have studios or classes available to themselves. But people can easily  - and independently from their location - learn how to dance with Matt´s hip hop dance video tutorials (Matt Steffanina on YT & DanceTutorialsLIVE).  

Matt´s videos are broken down so that moves and choreographies can be learned step-by-step. 

That´s brilliant for people like me who are not a second Justin Timberlake! Some of you may think I am too old for that stuff. But that´s why you still haven´t seen me dancing :-)

The global magic about dancing 


What is actually "the magic" about dancing performances, and how has it become a (literal) global movement?  

The answer may be given by yourself: Who of you hasn’t gotten lost in a song, crazily rocking the dancefloor, the kitchen, the bathroom - or whatever place you where right at when the music from one of your favourite artists conquered your body? 

Dancing schools and tutorials respond to a global fascination. Especially younger people love to dance like their idols

I remember being 12 years old when me and my best friend spent complete days dancing to Backstreet Boy´s videos in front of the television. It was hilarious, we had so much fun!

It makes us feel good! 

ALL ABOUT THAT BASS - Meghan Trainor Dance (11 year old Taylor Hatala)


Besides the fact that music is good to our souls, dancing also provides some major health privileges. 

The Huffington Post recently explained why: Dancing isn´t just fun - it´s really good for your health.

I swear there is no such feeling than the moment when you do the whole choreo for the first time! We grow along with the achievements that we pursue. Dancing as a hobby or even profession provides us with an extraordinary learning curve. Every song is different, every choreo a new challenge, and every training day a small piece of another great experience. 

These achievements provide us with a decent amount of self-confidence and make us (mentally and physically) stronger for other challenges life has to offer. 

It connects people! 

Especially by thinking about all these amazing choreographies where a group of people synchronizes their movements till perfection, we realize that dancing is able to establish really powerful social bonds. 

Independently from the professional point of view and leaving choerographies aside for a second, we all know that dancing is smart tool to connect us with each other. 

I bet all of us have been in the middle of a wild party some day, finding themselves heavily dancing with their friends, laughing and jumping until complete exhaustion. 

Dancing is like a key to a door that reveals a very natural part of ourselves and that makes us more open to relate with others. 

It is globally understood! 

"SHAPE OF YOU" - Ed Sheeran Dance 

Dancing is the perfect mirror of our today´s society: multicolored! 

No borders, no limits, no privileges and no exclusions. Dancing (feeling the music) is a universally understood and shared activity. 

There is no black or white, no rich or poor, old or young, girl or boy. 

Dancing is for everybody all over the world - it´s part of our DNA.


Final thoughts:
Dancing is a globally understood movement  that makes us feel alive and helps us to connect with others. It provides us with a fun way to grow along with our challenges. Choreographies not only synchronize steps but also a group of people. Dancing creates social bonds through entertainment - actually similar to steemit´s community. Dancing is a special way of addressing messages to the audience. And maybe one day we will find some of these powerful messages below the tag @MattSteffanina here on the platform.
I´d be definitely dancing in the front row! 

I hope you enjoyed the read dance.
Marly - 


Picture sources: Title image: http://www.stepxstepdance.com/belated-mattsteffanina-birthday-feature-sxstv/ Matt dancing: https://i.ytimg.com/ Albert Einstein quote: http://www.janeyoga.com/ Animated GIF: http://weheartit.com/entry/160754432 Purkey quote: http://www.thequotepedia.com/

Sort:  

Upvoted and shared all over! Awesome post!!!

I can totally relate tot he feelings relating to dancing as it was for the longest time in my life one of the main doorway to freeing myself from myself. You used an excellent choice of quotes that underline the power of dance. It relates directly to a thought I often think about that says: "The body wants to move."

Thanks a thousand times, all for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Oh wow thanks for the applause! I feel really blessed when my messages touch others like that ;)
And yes: music means freedom!

Awesome post!

And yeah hopefully we find those tags here :)

Thank you Adil, I am glad you liked it :)
Keeping my fingers crossed...

I wish I could dance. Despite years of trying to learn drums, guitar, and dance, I just happen to not have any rhythm.

According to the literature in the Psychology of Music, there are two variables in musical ability: talent and desire. The talent is the natural ability to understand and create music. Desire was the factor that pushes a person to work toward being great. I had plenty of desire, just no talent.

I still dance when I think nobody's watching though!

Thanks for your great contribution, that´s a really interesting detail.
I love to dance in the middle of the club´s dancefloors or even on the stage. That doesn´t mean that I am necessarily talented - I just love to do it! So my desire level is definitely 100% :)

Haha, when I was a bit younger I'd dance at clubs too, but I'd definitely need to get pretty liquored up before my inhibitions would go.

Thanks for sharing

You´ve got a funny blog @test1234 :)

Amazing! Gotta give credit where credit is due, and this guys does things that if I tried doing them, I'd look like an epileptic rabbit with the hiccups. Huge props!

LOL - yeah they do amazing things with their bodies, you are absolutely right!
The good news: you are free to just watch and don´t dance by yourself :-))

music is the other side of life

Oh to me it´s everywhere actually ;-) But yes, music is a world on its own.
Thanks for stopping by @jinaa!

Very cool:)

Thank you! I am happy you enjoyed it :)

I agree. Make dance and not war! Together with Music is dancing the other really inter-continental language! Perhaps the only inter-planetary language.

Oh yeah, I couldn´t agree more Pablo!!!
Thanks for the vision, love it :)