You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Songwriting Process

in #music6 years ago

I'm from Prince's hometown, so I can safely say that nobody is ever like Prince. They've been releasing some of those vault songs and they're a huge mix - I wonder if it's not so much that he thought they were awful as that he was never able to find time to give them a good listen later.

The small bursts of work and then change media that you talk about is very familiar to me. Over a couple of decades I built up about fifteen modes of work I can switch between, and most of the time one of them worked, so I was able to work on something.

That worked semi-functionally for a long time, but then last summer everything started working at once. Which I hadn't really thought about as a disaster scenario, but it's very much a mixed blessing. It's great to be able to work on whatever I want to, and I've been ridiculously productive ever since, but I also feel utterly swamped all the time.

Sort:  

Woah, do your neighbors know Prince and stuff? I would love to hear Prince stories from high school teachers haha, what an interesting human being.

Yeah, I somehow doubt Prince would feel bad about anything he created, he released some awful songs among the great ones and didn’t seem to feel bad about it.

So right now you work on everything at once? That sounds fantastic! I’ll have to pay closer attention to your blog and see what you put out!

I know some people who knew Prince, but none of them very well. Most of the stories I get are more "and then it was Prince" rather than anything characteristic.