CHICAGO 17 TOUR 1983

in #music6 years ago

Chicago is one of the nicest groups to be around I've experienced, although Steve Winwood is equally nice. The Chicago 17 tour was the first tour Bill Champlin played with the band. The first time I ever saw Chicago, they were still calling themselves CTA, and they were opening for Jimi Hendrix. I assumed they were the opening act for the entire tour. Years later at crew meal, I asked the bone player what it was like to tour with Hendrix. Before I knew it, the entire band and tour manager surrounded me, it turned out they only opened for Hendrix 3 nights and considered it a highpoint of their careers. They've gone on to record over 30 albums. A long time band roadie called BEAR ended his touring career after this tour, the band, being the class act they are, bought BEAR a backhoe and dumptruck and put him in business.
For the record, Pete Cetera was off stage right chatting with the stage monitor tech when this was shot chicago17.jpg

Sort:  

lee williamson, you're the biggest crybaby I ever saw