New Song "Faith" Out Now!

in #music5 years ago (edited)

49e9a759-3bec-4e7e-b169-c379cc844ec6.jpg

My new song "Faith" is now available for all to hear! You can stream and download it free at Noisetrade and Bandcamp.

There are several reasons why this hymn, originally titled “The Power of Faith,” is very special to me. I love it for its words, written by William H. Bathurst. It's a prayer from a heart that's weathering rough seas. But instead of asking God to take away the trial, the prayer asks for faith to go through it. Faith to believe that God is in control and that his love is still there, even in the hard times. I love that it’s a prayer asking for faith.

I love this song for its melody, written by my wife, Abigail, whose voice you hear with mine in the recording. Before she was my wife, she came across the words and they encouraged her. She put a simple, singable tune to the words to remember them and share them with others. Then with her phone she made a recording; just her voice and the piano. And that's how I was introduced to the hymn: that simple recording. I was moved by the earnestness in Abi’s voice and in the words she sang. I was amazed at how the song had found me, just in time. I listened to that recording over and over and over again; It was a lifeline for me. I needed those words, and I made them mine.

Fast-forward a year: what a joy and honor it was to revisit the song with Abi. We recorded it in one take on an iPhone, similar to the original recording (I added the synth later).

I hope you enjoy this song and that it is an encouragement to you as it’s been to us.