The Classics Never Die - The Shirelles

in #music6 years ago

I have been a little slack with my music blogs the last 2 weeks, sorry about that everyone. Just been a little busy with work and other things going on.

Well in the words of the great Cat Stevens "another Saturday night and I ain't got nobody" so that means I will be firing up the Saturday night jukebox and getting in the gym.
I'm an old school music lover and always will be, but more to the point I think I'm rather diverse in my selection of music. I don't like to limit my taste in music to just one particular genre or one particular era. Just because a particular era or genre in not in and the status quo doesn't mean I wont sit down and enjoy what it has to offer.
Most music I find has great worth.
I would much rather people think I'm weird for my taste in music than not listen to it at all. If I'm not cool then so be it, I could care less what people think of me. It's an amazing place to be when you don't care what others think of you ;)

The classics are one of those genres which I fear will eventually die out and become more and more unpopular. When you look back to great classics from the 30's, 40's and 50's the same story is true.
I have wanted a radio station that plays classics from the 30's and 40's in particular but there is not much of a selection, I could only find the one radio station.
The 50's, 60's and 70's are a bit more popular still with a good selection of radio stations but I fear that this will eventually end up like 30's and 40's music.
It's a good thing we have the likes of youtube when you can always find good classical music, but one thing I love about classical radio stations is they play stuff you don't know about some of the time. I find when you tune in to each radio station the playlists vary.

The classics never die, but they can be forgotten and sometimes your introduced to something you absolutely love.
I have had some interesting feed back in this series.
Here is some feedback I received from @mightpossibly

That's some nice songs!
I've never listened to a single David Bowie song before - these were some solid recommendations.

I have also received lots of great feed back, and interesting trivia from @mgood who is very knowledgeable on the classics I love.

The group, Dr Hook and the Medicine Show, wasn't very well known but they came out with a few hits.
I'm surprised they play their songs "down under".

Here is some feed back from @cheese4ead about my Pink Floyd post.

You know you won my vote at P!! 😂
Meddle was my choice for my most influential album in my challenge but Wish You Were Here is my favourite closely followed by Dark side of the moon.
The Wall freaks me out and Roger Waters lyrics are a little depressing. I still think its special though and I remember being transfixed on the artwork too. Comfortably Numb is technically an 80's track too!! Run Like Hell is a cool live track.
Awesome. Thanks @thevillan

So lets continue on with my series, I want to share another couple of my favorite tracks.



☠️ The Shirelles ☠️

 
The Shirelles are another one of my favorite girl groups from the 60's, they are also regulars on the Saturday night jukebox.
The Shirelles were an American girl group who came from New Jersey in the United States. The groups had that doo-wop sound from the 50's which is one of the reasons why I really love them.

The Shirelles were made up of four members including lead singer Shirley Owens and backing singers Doris Coley, Addie Harris and Beverley Lee.

Form Wikipedia:

Founded in 1957 for a talent show at their high school, they were signed by Florence Greenberg of Tiara Records. Their first single, "I Met Him on a Sunday", was released by Tiara and licensed by Decca Records in 1958. After a brief and unsuccessful period with Decca, they went with Greenberg to her newly formed company, Scepter Records. Working with Luther Dixon, the group rose to fame with "Tonight's the Night".



src


   

☠️ Will You Love Me Tomorrow ☠️

 
This would have to be my favorite track from The Shirelles.
It has such a good sound and rhythm, The way the backing singers all blend in with the lead singer produces a really great harmony.
The voice of Shirley Owens is remarkable and really soothing to listen to.
I really love the lyrics which have been used in this track.

Tonight you're mine, completely
You give your love so sweetly
Tonight the light of love is in your eyes
But will you love me tomorrow

 


   

☠️ Mama Said ☠️

 
Here is another excellent track by the Shirelles.
I really love this track because is has a real doo-wop sound to it which was so popular in the 50's.
Again with this track I think the way the backing singers work with lead singer Shirley produces a really great harmony.
The track has a really great rhythm which you can bop along to.
This track is another regular on the Saturday night jukebox.
 


   

☠️ Make the Night a Little Longer ☠️

 
Here is another great song by The Shirelles.
I find this song has that real 50's sound to it also, but not the doo-wop sound.
I like the beat that they have used for this track, it's rather unique and sounds really good.
I have never heard this track played on the jukebox, but I stumbled across it on youtube one day and thought it has an interesting sound.
 


   

I have added these tracks into Villans Saturday Night jukebox Mix for you all :)

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bob Dylan
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Ronettes
☣️ The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders Rupert Holmes and Norman Greenbaum
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Kinks
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Animals
☣️ The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders David Essex and Barrett Strong
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Cat Stevens
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dire Straits
☣️ The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders Tommy Roe and The Vogues
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Searchers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Fleetwood Mac
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Mixtures
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Monkees
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Elton John
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Simon & Garfunkel
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Pink Floyd
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Black Sabbath
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Tom Petty
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Daddy Cool
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Righteous Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Foundations
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Toto
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Tops
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dr Hook
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Nazareth
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Beach Boys
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Lynard Skynard
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Some Classic Girl Groups - The Exciters and The Crystals
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bobby Vee
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Dave Clarke Five
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Gary Puckett and The Union Gap, The Honeycombs, The Walker Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - T. REX
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Eagles
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Drifters
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Seasons
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bowie
☣️ The Classics Never Die - ELO
 

Sort:  

@the villan - The Shirelles are also one of my favorite girl groups from the 60's. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow is one of my favorite songs and the first #1 hit for songwriters Carole King and Gerry Goffin.
I like to watch the video of the groups performing so here goes - from the early 60's that's what people were like.

Mama said, Mama said...hep hep

You know you have me hook line and sinker when you mention all the groups and singers I enjoyed in my teenage years.

That would have been good to grow up through that era :)

There must be something wrong with todays singers, but wait didnt my father say that.😛

Haha nope there is definitely something wrong with todays singers, and I'm a 90's kid lol

It must be the useless coaches on the TV singing competition shows.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheVillan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 8.49% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @thevillan! Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @oceanwhale. Visit www.OceanWhaleBot.com for details!