The Sound of STEEM - Music From Live Trades

in #music6 years ago


For my first d.tube video I decided to cover how I converted the real time market trading information of the STEEM currency into music. By using a custom made patch, I gathered a live feed of the Ask, Bid, Last, Volume, Base Volume, Buy Orders and Sell Orders, converting them into information that the music software and synthesizer could understand.

The Bid feed controls the pitch of the notes, while the other 6 data-flows control the characteristics of the sound. As people trade on the market, the pitch and character of the sound change accordingly, creating forever evolving ambient space-like music.

To listen to a recording of this running for several minutes check out https://dsound.audio/#!/@tomcosm/the-sound-of-steem

This is part of my plan to build a bot that generates a whole orchestra of ambient instruments based on the currencies you are holding, and change depending on alerts you set, so you can just use yours ears to hear how your portfolio is going.

If you have any questions or requests feel free to leave me a comment below! :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nice idea:)

Kind thanks! Super motivated to get the whole orchestra built :)

wow :) d.tube :) yes! nice one tom

Hi! Nice to meet you here. Interesting approach. I like looking for the invisible (inaudible) lines between the "outer world" (or "real world" or call it as you may) and music and/or sound. Once I transferred a landscape to music (and vice versa). OK, I´ll follow you of course (upvote included). You might be interested in our community "Sound and Sound Design" here on Steemit. Details here: https://steemit.com/music/@rofilm/community-sound-and-sound-design
But interested or not, enjoy your day! Rolf from the Czech republic

Hey, def keen to check it out - I'm new here and super up for finding people with similar tastes.

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This is amazing Tom! Genius :)

Chur for the cameo haha

As per usual, Great stuff! @tomcosm

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by leanvix from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi Tom, nice to see you are here! I just got my steemit account yesterday and I've already found you haha. Great ideas as always, I am fascinated by your ingenuity every time. I remember some time ago when I was addictively following your streams while you were remixing the Pitch Black Without The Trees...just amazing. Thank you! I have learned so much from you!

Ah hello mate! I'll be streaming again soon once I get back to Australia

I'm one of your oldest follower on youtube Tom, welcome to Steemit. You have my upvote, and follow! Cheers from Italy!

Cheers @thenightflier - glad to be here ;)

i love this! So grand! completely up my alley!