Collaboration

in #music6 years ago

Collab1.jpg

Last week, an old friend of mine reached out to me and told me he really liked my new music, then asked if I wanted to collaborate on a song. And of course I agreed because collaborating on music is so much fun! Every time I've done that in the past I've learned amazing production technique, and even new ways to write music!

Before we met up, neither of us had any idea how we wanted our track to sound, so we just decided to wing it. I will say that our styles of music are very different; I love orchestral and dance music while he loves metal. And while I can play several instruments, I actually never learned how to play the guitar, and I love the fact that he was able to play something I've never picked up before!

When we first began our project, I started playing some chords on my keyboard while he was playing around with his guitar. And after a while, he played a rhythm that I've never used in my music before, but it ultimately became the backbone of our track once we figured out which key to play it in!

As of now, there is still a lot of work that needs to be done but I'm very happy with the melody he came up with! I have spent some time working on different harmonies and drum patterns that I'm excited to show him at our next session together. We're both absolutely excited to continue working on this song because it takes cues from two very different styles that are blending together way better than either of us ever imagined they would. And because we are both completely open to each others feedback, this track truly has potential to become something special!

Sort:  

dude its crazy we both got people to collaborate with!!!

can't wait to hear the result!