Top 10 fave GARBAGE songs

in #music6 years ago

garbagebanner.jpg
The alternative rock band Garbage formed in 1993 in Madison, Wisconsin, USA. The last few months has seen them commemorate 20 years since the release of their universally acclaimed second album "Version 2.0" by doing a tour performing all its tracks. I saw one night of the "20 Years Paranoid" tour at Brixton Academy, London, last month. It rocked and it got me thinking about all their great songs. Garbage are (l to r) Steve Marker, Duke Erikson, their Scottish frontwoman Shirley Manson and the legendary Butch Vig.

10] Stupid Girl (1995)


"Pretend you're anything just to be adored..." Turns out a sneering critique of (I'm guessing) a stupid girl can be danceable, with its homage to The Clash's Train In Vain too.


9] When I Grow Up (1998)


I still wonder what growing up will be like. Until then, I reckon I'll always enjoy this song about what it might be like.


8] The One (2012)


When you're like "uh oh" cos you think you're starting to have feelings about someone. Help me man down!


7] Blood For Poppies (2012)


Can't lie to you, I really liked 2012's "Not Your Kind Of People" album.
So I guess being a soldier in Afghanistan would mess you up. At least I think that's what this song's about.


6] Automatic Systematic Habit (2012)


A great way to reintroduce themselves after 7 years away. A song about bloody liars.


5] I Think I'm Paranoid (1998)


Sounded great back then, and still does now. Just because you're paranoid it doesn't mean they're not out to get you.


4] I Hate Love (2012)


Well if you've never felt like that, lucky you. "Can you call me? Can you call me back?" The pain! Total banger though.


3] Only Happy When It Rains (1995)


A monster anthem for the miserablists out there. And there was a lot to be miserable about in the mid 90s. The Spice Girls? Fuck off!


2] Why Do You Love Me? (2005)


Cos you're awesome, to answer the question. Nice Blondie references in the video. Oh and this happened once.


1] Push It (1998)


I was angry when I first heard this. I think I'm angry still. Lol.
From the Version 2.0 album, I think this is Garbage at their Garbage-y best. It builds, it's menacing, it explodes all over you.

Here's a Spotify playlist for it (minus The One cos it's not on there):


Obviously, there were many songs that could've got in. Tell me what you would've chose!
Take care beloved freaks.
https://www.garbage.com

Sort:  

I'll always love Cherry Lips and Untouchable myself.

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks for viewing protegeaa!