Phantom Of The Opera???

in #musical6 years ago (edited)
My week was rather great because I knew that I was going to watch one of my favorite classic, The Phantom of The Opera. It's a musical production, or so I thought. I was invited to attend this musical show and I felt rather cheated. Although I got the tickets from my friend for free, I can't deny the fact that it was totally a scam!

Before I get into details, what exactly is Musical Show/Theater? I checked with Google as I am writing this to make sure my understanding and knowledge about Musical Shows are correct so I don't appear as a snobbish fool.

Musical theatre is a form of theatrical performance that combines songs, spoken dialogue, acting and dance.

Precisely, dance, singing and ACTING!!

This is such a misleading flyer

So, there was no dramatic dancing, no amazing props, not even a decent sound system. Only a pianist, some violinists, the two lead singers and terrible PA system controllers & lighting crews. What can I say, this was held in Berjaya Hotel, not KL Pac or Stadium. Maybe I did not read the flyers properly, hence I was scammed. But it's free. It's not quite a scam. I dunno! I'm just frustrated because it was completely NOT what I was expecting.

Started with "The Phantom Of The Opera" song, followed by 10-15 songs from other musicals they've performed before and ended with a few Phantom songs. But I can't deny they are both really talented singers. Both their voices are amazing although Ms Claire Lyon did ruin the verse of The Phantom of The Opera and the bridge of Beauty and the Beast for me.

If there ever be The Phantom of The Opera theater show, I would definitely go.


Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).