[Music Discovery] Childish Gambino - Feels Like Summer


Before we get started, make sure to give the play button on the above YouTube video a gentle tap to get the music started, you won't regret it.


Childish Gambino, aka Donald Glover, has dropped his latest track on YouTube, and I think I'm even more pumped for this than I was This Is America. Feels Like Summer is a lofi chillhop song from the lyrical master himself.I've got a feeling that chillhop is about to break into the mainstream, and I'm not entirely sure how I feel about that!

The beautifully animated video features Gambino sauntering down the street of a pretty damn cool neighbourhood, passing by a plethora of celeb cameos. In what is possibly the most ambitious crossover this year, we get to see a crying Kanye West being comforted by Michelle Obama, Jay-Z, Snoop and Beyonce wearing a t-shirt in tribute to Chicago drill rapper Fredo Santana, who sadly died unexpectedly at the beginning of the year. There are plenty more hip-hop cameos for you to look out for, including Drake literally chasing the future.

The video feels like it's genuinely captured the end of this summer, especially if you have a taste for R&B or hip-hop. There's no doubt Gambino has hit a new creative high this year with him seemingly having hit after hit, while also appearing to stay true to who he is. I'm still hoping for a Troy and Abed reunion at some point, but until then I'll be playing this track non-stop till it comes time to move over to the Chillhop Essentials Fall 2018 collection.

What do you think about this chill tune? Spotted all the celebs you can in the video? Let me know your thoughts and feeling down in the comment section, I always enjoy reading what you think about these things. As always, make sure to follow me for the latest Technology, Internet and Pop Culture updates and until we meet again, be excellent to each other!.

P.S. If you're new here, you might want to check out my Ultimate Beginner's Guide To Steemit, which covers everything you need to know to get started making money and meeting new people on Steemit.

If this post is older than 7 days, please support me by upvoting my latest post Latest post


Sources:
Childish Gambino - Feels Like Summer | YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F1B9Fk_SgI0)

All images and videos are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

I like the chilled tune. It's something I would put in as background music.

Unfortunately, I am not well-versed in celebrities, so I couldn't identify most of them.

I often find most chillhop/lofi songs make for good background music. Definitely not something I would sit down and listen to, unlike my beloved Pink Floyd.

To be honest, I'm not very up on my celebrities, but I did recognise a few. Apparently it's full of all these lil' rappers. Apparently.

Definitely, the type of song and style I would allow to play after Watsky or Dan le sac has stopped and it happens to be next. Not a fan of this style of music though but can appreciate that there are individual great ones that I might like to obsess over. Like when I discovered grandson.

Something about this style has totally captivated me this year, but no doubt I'll move on to something different soon.

There are definitely parallels between gambino and grandson I think, even though they're coming from different places.

You just planted 0.13 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johngreenfield

We have planted already 3566.22 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 29471.58
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png