[Music Discovery] Darts - Duke of Earl

in #musicdiscovery6 years ago (edited)


Duke of Earl was originally released in 1962 by R&B singer-songwriter Gene "The Duke" Chandler, but my personal favourite version is the 1979 cover by British doo-wop group Darts. Darts were known in the late 70s and early 80s for their covers of popular US rock and roll songs and had a number of UK top 20 hits.

Not really a lot to say about this one, it's just one of those old songs that gets stuck in my head from time to time. Too many late nights drunkenly watching Top of the Pops 2 I think. What did you think? Got any favourite songs from that period? Let me know in the comments down below, and as always make sure to follow me for the latest Cryptocurrency, Internet and Pop Culture updates. Until next time, stay funky!


All images and videos are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

I like this version too! My first time hearing the cover. Of course I know the original. I like irreverence couched in humor in the carriage scene. Hmm late 70s covers... Johnny Cash's "Ghost Riders in the Sky" was big for me. Well I looked for a good video for it... there's some good ones of him singing it live, but I wanted one with apocalyptic imagery and had to spend some time to find a decent one (there are many). This one has Portuguese subtitles but the images are the best for this song imo.

I know @calluna will probably have heard that one before (she's really into her country), I definitely hadn't. Great suggestion! It's reassuring to know yippie-ya-yaaay is the same in portuguese!

I do like Johnny Cash, I should probably give him more of a listen. There's a few country artists from the same era that I've been meaning to look into...

You just planted 0.38 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johngreenfield

We have planted already 5977.70 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18693.60
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness