How to Facilitate Creative Flow When Producing Music

in #musicproduction6 years ago (edited)

microphone-1209816__340.jpg

When producing a track, you must enter a session with the pure intention to create what you feel. Do not allow any preconceptions or expectations of what is cool or not affect the direction of creative energy. When you allow expectations to get in the way, then you stunt the creative flow of a session.

Carefully inspect your thoughts within. Observe your intentions while you make creative decisions such as selecting musical notes. You will find that when you remain in an open state, you end up discovering those beautiful notes that work well together.

Hopefully you find this helpful. It is something I notice myself doing when producing. I often find myself holding onto expectations of how something should sound, which results in me not going with the flow of a session. Once I let go of the expectations, I am open to possibilities. Being open to possibilities is what will allow you to make successive creative decisions that work.

Making music is about making one creative decision, after another, until you end up with a greater idea that is a summation of all those decisions. If you have an expectation, such as "Oh, these notes don't sound like what the industry is doing, I don't want to use these notes" then you forgo that creative decision, and give up the chance for that idea to grow.

Some decisions work and some don't. However, the only way to know, is to give the idea a chance.

studio-2677975_1280.jpg

Sort:  

Sold my first beat today so I'm following this.

Congrats on selling your first beat. Where can I hear your stuff?

Thanks,I really want to make music

I encourage you to take that leap.