Auld Lang Syne - Music Video

in #musicvideo3 years ago

Well another year has come and gone. This is one of my favorite songs for the New Year, and I had the pleasure of shooting this video quite a few years ago. If I remember correctly, this was I think the 2nd music video I shot, and there are many things I'd do differently now, but it's one of the higher viewed videos that I've made. Music by the great @danieldyemusic.

Sort:  

Nice song, cool performance in a great looking location! Like it!

The video is for sure hand shot, something I like. Maybe the camera moves a bit too much to my taste... But I don't want to criticise it, since I never made a video and may not have the skills at all to create something like you did here. What would you have done differently when you would've had the change to redo this video with the same band, song and location?

Yeah, camera stabilization is a big one for me. I now mostly use stabilizers, and have slowed down and tried to smooth down all my shots, and be more creative with my framing.

Probably the biggest thing for me is the lighting/coloring. I didn't have much clue what I was doing with video at that point, and everything came out really purple. I now have better cameras that can shoot way better video, but this video is kind of a reminder to me that sometimes the technical aspect of things don't really matter, but it's the heart and actual art that matter..and Daniel Dye and the Miller Road Band definitely shine in that regard.

but it's the heart and actual art that matter.

Agree :)

camera stabilization is a big one for me

Am not a video creator (yet, I may try some when I have my new laptop), but I would say handshots can be truly nice, even when it is not 100% stable. What many people do however, when making handshots, they move the camera left tot righ and up and down all the time. This gives the viewer a feel of unrest.

Colours/Lightning

Am ok with anything, didn't notice these where of. Can be artist point of view to want a certain colour :)

Well that's good you didn't notice any coloring was off :) Maybe I am overthinking it.

I definitely got better at doing the handshots, but overall prefer the smoother motion unless I'm shooting more of a gritty-style video.

Always nice to learn more. Handshots are cool imho. Love some of the movies out there shot entirely from hand, before all this digital stabilisation thingies.