You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wayback music challenge: Day 4 – Rebel Without a Pause

Great choice, @katharsisdrill. Totally agree about PE being the best of hiphop, and this album is as good as it gets. For those interested, I checked out some of the samples that go into the collage that is this great track:

~ Your favourite “Brothers and sisters”, kicking off the track, is spoken by preacher-politician Jesse Jackson and was taken from the start of ‘I don’t know what this world is a coming to’ by the Soul Children.

~ The three curtain-raising horn stabs 6 seconds in are from James Brown’s ‘Get up offa that thing’ (0’20”).

~ The drum rhythm heard throughout the track, first at 12 seconds in, was sampled from James Brown’s ‘Funky drummer’ (5’35”).

~ The drum rhythm first heard at 0’41” is from a less likely source, ‘Rock music’ by Jefferson Starship (0’10”).

All the originals are there on YouTube for checking out but for a handy list of all seven samples the track uses, see this page of whosampledwho.com: https://tinyurl.com/y87psolz

Sort:  

Thanks! I knew the funky drummer and I saw that the quote in the beginning was from Jesse Jackson, when I copy pasted it as the finish, but Jefferson Starship was new to me!

Yep, not the most obvious source.

Hi, btw. @shortcut mentioned you to me as one of the music fiends on here. Look forward to seeing more of your posts.

Oh, he did? I am a pictorial artist; very interested in music, but only an amateur. I have written quite a few posts about music though.