You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wayback music challenge: Day 4 – Rebel Without a Pause

The record is probably the most wild and creative use of sampled music ever, but it was never girl music. I have heard in in the hip-hop room in some long gone clubs in Copenhagen, but even though a lot of it is disco samples it is too gritty and ruthless for the common dancefloor. Check the hit single Don't Believe The Hype with a strange James Brown trumpet!

They did use a heavy guitar from Slayer who was signed on the same label on one of the tracks. I might write about that tomorrow. But here you can hear it: She Watch Channel Zero?! Pretty brutal track with the age old evergreen theme: Some guys that feel they are in their good right to tell some girl how to behave.

Not agreeing on their militant separatism and many other things in their not too stringent political opinions. But I understand the anger and love the music.

Sort:  

I love the beat and the energy in Don't Believe the Hype, and your posted motivated me to write something along these lines.

Also an interesting thing from the lyrics of Don't Believe the Hype. John Coltrane is mentioned. That was one of the few things I understood. The word hype for example was not a word any of us knew, and I asked a guy from New York a couple of years later and he said, "this is rap, these guys make up their own language."

here it is:

Writers treat me like Coltrane, insane
Yes to them, but to me I'm a different kind
We're brothers of the same mind, unblind

Thanks, that's really cool, I didn't catch that while listening.