You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wayback music challenge: Day 4 – Rebel Without a Pause

I was never into hiphop, but I can appreciate people enjoy it. I hear some stuff I like, but I can't see myself listening to a whole album of this. I expect it makes for a cool live experience

Sort:  

Public Enemy was more than any other rap-band known for their uncompromising style. It can be straining to listen to, I agree on that, just like death metal :)

I think any extreme form of music can be hard work, but it can find fans. Luckily we have loads of choice.

It was about this time, maybe a little later that I decided not to reject any genre of music. It was not hip-hop, but more things like country & western that was very low status in the late eighties in Denmark. Funny enough I didn't know that the Sort Sol song was a country cover. Now I seldom think about it, but back then it felt like a very heroic thing to decide :)

I don't think there's a genre I can say I totally dislike. It depends on the song and I don't even know what genre some would be put under. I have quite a range in my collection

Me neither, but we are both older :) Back then music was also connected to our not so developed teenage identities. I knew many people who defined themselves from their musical taste. It was really only that I rejected. It did open up a world of music for me, and it did open to many different subcultures and the people who followed them. I never dressed any different though :)