You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musing Posts

What single feature or addition would you like to see on musing?

Personally I would love to see comments from the curation team as to why they thought certain answers were good and deserved the upvote they got.

Were they humourous and made the team laugh? Was it informative but not dry and academic? Did it simply touch them and make them feel happy or sad after reading?

A lot more work on the already over-burdened team I know, but man it would be great to know their thoughts

Sort:  

As already suggested on Discord I would love to see an option to debate over specific, important questions. Currently, the questions asked on Musing usually get around 2-3 answers each which is good but, nowhere near ideal if we truly want to get the best possible answers and a good factual evidence based debate going on. Appart from that, the main issue I see with Musing is that questions are very short-lived and the motivation to answer them quickly withers away when the Musing hands out the upvotes to the best answers.

The way I envisioned the debate function to work is that each week curators select 10 of the best questions and present them in the debate section. Users then have a full week to debate over the questions and try to bring up some worthy claims in an attempt to truly answer them in the best way possible. After a week, curators decide which answers brought the most value to the debate and upvote them accordingly.

This way, the best questions would last much longer, they would get much more constructive answers and users wouldn't lose motivation to try to answer them throughout the week. The answers would be of much better quality as users would have more time to think about them and  in end, it would bring about a much needed change of dynamic to our current Q/A's

I think it would be beneficial for them to have some way to weed out some of the duplicate questions that are getting posted.  For example they might have to institute some form of white-listing like some other services have to cut down on some of the abuse that is starting to take shape on musing.io.  I think it is a great service and a great idea.  It has so much potential to be helpful to so many people.  

I understand it is probably hard to determine somethings worth.  A question that may seem trivial to one person might be super beneficial to another.  Without having to get their hands too dirty though, there should be a way to get rid of some of the bloat and fluff that is showing up on the main page.

The one feature I would really like to see in Musing.io is the ability to sort and filter questions. 

At the moment, it's still easy to navigate the questions based on when they were posted, but as the platform grows, it's going to need a better way for users to navigate these questions. So, improving the way that users can sort and filter questions can really help improve the platform's usability.

For example, I would like to be able to filter out answered questions, so I can only see the unanswered ones right away. Or sort questions using other criteria aside from tags. For example, view questions posted during a certain time period, in case I'm looking for a specific question. 

I would definitely want musing to have lots of new features. I personally am a big fan of statistics. If musing can come up with good stats to display how many questions people have asked and how many answers people have made along with total earnings from musing etc can really be a good addition to the platform.

People easily get attracted to the stats. The top musers will also be a good addition. People will then be able to compete with other musers in asking and posting answers.

I personally feel there are lots of development opportunities for musing to become a good competitor for Quora. The UI can also be made a little more fancier than it is now.

I think it should be possible to flag questions or answers that are spam.

To me it seems like a lot of people are spaming questions here just becaus they hope to get upvotes. 

Also I already requested this feature a few weeks ago: When creating a new question musing should show you a selection of similar questions. Maybe you will already find a answer there so you don't have to publish a dublicated question. StackOverflow for example does the same.

Oh I like that similar question drop down idea

Obviously this question has been asked for but when I scrolled down a few days looking for one I didn't see it so I couldnt post my answer, hence I started a new one

One thing I really love about Musing is its minimalistic and simplistic UI and I hope that they won't overdo the future changes they are planning for the site as I am pretty much content about it at the moment.

I however would like to see Musing have an option for a "Night-Mode" or dark-theme. As someone who has somewhat a sensitive eyes, the white background on Musing.io is sometimes just too bright.

And if you consider these a feature, it really would be good if they can release a mobile app before the year ends. A mobile app with a "night-mode" feature would be more than perfect. :)

 

Some form of spam-reduction. As in: people who post too many (similar) questions on a (short) period of time. Similar questions that are asked over and over again, with only slightly different wording. That kind of stuff.

Besides that, I would like a “similar questions” section when you’ve answered a question (or viewed one).

I would like to see plagiarism disappear. I see lots of copied and pasted answers all over and not being written by the person themselves. Surely that is only fair and the only way to improve it. You shouldn't be able to answer and leave a link to an extra source either.

Hi @ancientknowled3

I have often wondered myself how the team judges "value" in a question or answer. I'm certainly not complaining though, musing is very generous with rewards, and IMO use their delegation for all the right reasons! It would be nice to see a little feedback in the comments from them, but I am sure they are heavily taxed with development and manually curating, so of course I am understanding in this aspect! 

A feature I would really love to see, is a dark mode. The white background bothers my eyes, and I find I need to take breaks from musing because of the intensity. Other than that, I don't have any complaints, the platform is clean, and easy to use. No need to make things complicated. 

Convert the URLs in my answer into hyperlinks (or give me a way to insert links directly.)