Sort:  

We all have to start somewhere and I think when we start those initial mistakes can either make or break you. Either way you learn from them. I guess that's the upside

My personal situation sounds almost the same as yours, working dad, 2 kids. Trying to invest what I can where I can. Then I lost half an ethereum buying a token before the ICO and it turned out to be a scam. That was a bitter pill to swallow.

@mealhound, I've unfortunately had to learn some lessons the hard but I'm more knowledgeable and more skilled today because of it. Glass half full I guess. Hoping one day the things I have learned will pay off and I'll see things head in the other direction but until I keep trying to grind it out on here and make what I can, even in small amounts. I also look for opportunities elsewhere too, for instance, Coinbase recently opened a new program called Coinbase Earn where you can watch some instructional videos and earn some various cryptocurrencies just by doing that. I made $26 on that. Not enough to boast about but it's still something.