1 month After: From Peace to Chaos, Facing Societal Expectations and Other Musings

in #musings7 years ago (edited)

Whoops! I'm back from my longest break ever. It's so nice writing another blog post after over 30 days. I've been going on breaks since I joined Steemit but I've never been away this long.

To all those who reached out while I was away, I miss you guys. Steemit has been a major part of my life over the past 1 year. And I look forward to more lovely times with y'all.

Funnily, I've been up to date with information going through the community, the dramas et al. I drop by once in a while to give an upvote or two ; send some tips and say hi to close friends.

I see some unfamiliar faces around now and it's nice to see so many users joining now. I look forward to even more users joining steemit in thousands ....

The next couple of months is going to very hectic as I formally start my adult life but I'm always gonna find a way to fit Steemit into my schedule.

Going Back Home: From Peace to Chaos

2016 was literally the best year in my life. Not only did I discover Steemit, I also left home for the first time in my life. Quite a number of close Steemians knew I was staying alone in another state carrying out the mandatory 1 year service for civilians. I was lucky to be posted to a state that was perfect for my introverted nature.
Serene. Peaceful. Close to nature. With next to no "big city" pollution effects.

Last month, I finally concluded my national service and I had to leave my home for the past 11 months or so to my birthplace. From a state with just 3 million residents to one of the largest urban areas in the world.

It's been fun and hectic re-adjusting to the hustle of this polluted and highly populated city of mine. :(

Facing Societal Expectations

Go to School. Get good/excellent grades. Graduate. Get a nice paying office job. ……..

You get the drift. We've all had these repeated several times to us that we've subconsciously accepted it as the status quo. Parents, Friends, Siblings….Everyone ..Society…. expects you to go through these phases.

What if you decide you ain't cut out for all these? And you ain't gonna allow yourself get stuck in the rut.

I believe that deep down in us, we know these phases ain't the way things should be. But in a way, we've gotten used to everyone going down this pipe that we never want to be the odd one.

I understand some people find really deep satisfaction from going through this route. But for some of us, the traditional education and white collar job system suck.

I love working as a freelancer from home. On ideas I find cool and fascinating … So I expect that if I'm able to earn enough to take care of myself and loved ones, things will be fine. But nah, I get annoying remarks from friends and acquaintances about "how unemployed I am", "when am I gonna get a real job" and "how awkward it is not to go through the normal, soul-killing route they took".

It's all gonna be fine. I believe. Anything Is Possible If One Is Willing to Put In the Work. I also know life sucks sometimes though. :)

A question for you:
What would you like to do if you had no responsibilities/societal expectations to fulfill?

Overcoming Procrastination - An Ongoing Struggle

I remember I made mention of my search for passion and motivation in my last personal post. I think one cannot truly conquer procrastination. It's gonna be a lifelong struggle to get things done.

From research, in a way, procrastination is a nifty way our brain tells us something is not normal. We just have to find a way of deciphering what it is.

This post was a little victory in my ongoing fight with procrastination.

SteemMag

There have been so much info going on in the community and there's so much to catch up with on SteemMag.

I hope to continue it asap. I miss reaching out to awesome people on Steemit and covering important projects going on.

If you've got a Steemian or a Steem Tool you would like to see featured on SteemMag, pls drop by and say hi. I would love to hear from you.

Parting question
What made you smile today?

Sort:  

Good luck with your travels! Seeing my 1 year old daughter put sun glasses on and run around the house in nothing but them and a diaper made me smile today :D

This made me smile. I love kids so much. Nice having fun with your daughter.

welcome back @infovore it's been a while.

Welcome back @infovore - i adore your freelance approach even it would be nothing for me, need people around me in my job.

This made me smile, my princess taking care about her own stuff

image

Thanks @uwelang. It's nice to have you drop by again. I'm used to staying alone indoors all day. But once in a whil, I like staying around people too..
You've got a lovely princess there. Have so much fun with her :)

Thanks a lot @infovore - i also enjoy my silence sometimes - especially when trying to write

welcome back man of the people @infovore....You've made a mark mate.
P.S - we are in the same Geo-location, #LASGIDI-nile

Thanks man. I really appreciate. I look forward to more interaction with you.

you very welcome!..
looking forward to more as well

Hello infovore and welcome back...been following you for a while now and I am one of your greatest fans. Been wondering if you could plss follow me up and read some of my articles and correct me if am lagging in any way...thanks

Good to see you posting again. What made me smile today? Sitting out in my garden seeing my first yellow poppy of the year in bloom.

Wow. Nature fascinates me too.. Nice to have you drop by. What have you been up to lately?

I've currently taking a 5 minute break from painting my bathroom with white emulsion! In terms of projects I'm putting together a portfolio of new cyanotype work and looking more into crypto themed artwork.

Wow. Such dedication. How many hours do you spend painting daily?

Between 2 and 14 hours depending on the day and the project:D

You put me to shame.

Wow.. That's amazing. You must love what you do so much.

Opheliafu! Miss you!

So good to have you back and reading a bit of your personal life I never knew about. You are one of my favourites on steemit and I can't wait for more steemmag news.

I believe that deep down in us, we know these phases ain't the way things should be. But in a way, we've gotten used to everyone going down this pipe that we never want to be the odd one.

I can relate to those words very much🌺

Thanks @mammasitta. You've been one of my most consistent supporters on Steemit and I'm so glad I know you. Thanks so much. You're awesome ;) How are you doing these days?

Sama sama ! You are very welcome in Bahasa Indonesia! 💫🎶 I humbly thank you!
I am in Vienna taking care of my mother. It's not easy, my life on hold for her but I see it as a blessing.
Wishing you well!
Danke vielmals for asking

My friend made me smile today :)

@infovore, welcome back to PaPa's land. Lol!

ha! Thanks sis!

Welcome back, and don't worry for the Societal Expectations. They are going to change drastically when people discover…

https://steemit.com/comic/@lighteye/b-c-stands-for-blockchain-apr-09-2016-new-leaf

…I mean, Steemit :)

haha. Not necessarily when they discover Steemit. I think deep down, loved ones just want the best for us. When they discover you're doing cool. They tend to accept who you've become. Thanks for the kinds words.
Cool comic you've got btw. keep pushin' :)

Welcome back and have a nice day buddy! :-)

welcome back

Welcome back to Steemit bro, I have really missed your presence, glad you are back.

Haha. Thanks so much for the warm welcome.

Welcome back! Have a great and safe time.

Thanks. Have a great day ahead too

Welcome back to Steem land, it has been too long. May the force stay with you and us all. Namaste :)

Hey man! Thanks for the warm message. It's always so nice to have you around. :)

Those friends that tell you to get a real job really have no clue what living life is all about!

i will be back to fully read!

It's funny that I wished that my area is as lively as where you are xD
Btw, I find it easier to escape procrastination once i turn off any distractions! There's a satirist account that came into Steemit in recent months @trafalgar , would be nice to see your interviews with them! I also have to admit that I've been busy not looking around what's up on this network.. but great to see things going along well :)

Haha. I run away from crowded spaces :) I can keep off distractions easily. Buh getting the motivation to sometimes getting thing done is the ish.
And yes! @trafalgar is a really cool guy.

Hey!!! Wow, welcome back I guess? Perhaps I am one of those "new people joining" while you were away. This is the first time I came across your post. Love the way you write and I guess a thousand people thought that way too. You seem very young from the way you describe your life currently. Man you're gonna encounter so much more and learn so much more even when honestly what you have now (your mindset and worldview) is far wider than young people of this day and age (instagrammers and mindless Facebooker, that is)

Looking forward to read more writings and musings of your wonderful mind!

Wow. Thanks so much for your comment.. It made me smile.
Followed you and I look forward to reading awesome contents from you.

Do you know what happens when you give a procrastinator a good idea?
Nothing!

Apt! Acting is key!

Ohhh, we've been awaiting your return... Glad to have you back! :)

Thanks man. How is the sea these days?

Ahhh, I wish I knew. You remember I'm married to the sea, ;) but alas we've been estranged for a while... I need to return!

Excellent post! I like your work My friend

Thanks man

It's great to have you back and I'm glad everything is going well. Best wishes for the next phase in your life. What made me smile today? My dog chasing a lizard that he couldn't quite catch.

Thanks so much for the warm message.. It's so funny seeing animals exerting futile efforts over stuff. Makes being human with higher intelligence a huge favor.

Welcome back.
You ask what made me smile today. Automation made me smile today. It's our future.
giphy (1).gif
busstraddlegifgif.gif
elevated-bus-beijing-china-4a.gif
elevated-bus-beijing-china-3a.gif

wow! Stuffs like this get me giddy so i can imagine your excitement!

EXCITED? Are you kidding?

The Future is a Massive Heart Attack!

welcome back @infovore.any ways im new here!have a nice day..im still alive.that makes me smile..haha,lol

Welcome to Steemit. You're gonna have a cool time here.

thanks @infovore i followed and upvoted you.thanks from philippines

Infovore, you have inspired me to start posting again. I've been on hiatus for several months - all kinds of life glitches have kept me from writing. But I miss it and miss my friends here. What made me smile today? Reading your post. Because if you are back, all is good in the world! :) Let the new phase begin!

You flatter me a lot. And it's been awesome having you as a friend..

Glad to see you again, mom 😂😂😂

Mom. Yes. Did you eat your greens today? ;)

@infovore Seeing People Like You make me happy who wants to follow their own path and don't worry about societal expectations and its unworthy burden of doing something we don't want to do.

Your photo made me smile today! It reminds me of my life in Indian!
I had self-made tamales this morning for breakfast, to miss the chaos I used to have in Mexico.

Wow. Homesick? ;)
Its really nice to encounter things that reminds of places we've left behind. Have a great day ahead man

No, not homesick. I'm a permanent traveler.

What would you like to do if you had no responsibilities/societal expectations to fulfill?
I know this is only just theory: If you feel confidence or belief which way you have chosen, why you do not do it with your passion. If that is good for you and other people , why you have stop to do it. :)

Thanks for this reminder.

Awesome post great read Thanks keep up the good work

Welcome back. I'm new here and totally resonate with you post. If your mission, duty or life path is to work as a freelancer, flow with it, follow your heart and the answer will soon be revealed.
My best wishes on your journey.

I was lucky to be posted to a state that was perfect for my introverted nature.

Where was that, because I'm done with school since August but my school(UNIBEN) is just delaying and it's most likely that it would be November. It would nice if I knew where you served so I can add it to my list of destination, I would also love to serve.

What would you like to do if you had no responsibilities/societal expectations to fulfill?

I would love to be a music producer(smiles). I love sound and creating it would be lovely but we know what our parents, siblings, and friends would say.

What made you smile today?

Seeing my mum laughing

Whoops! I'm back from my longest break ever. It's so nice writing another blog post after over 30 days.

Quite funny. It's been over 7 months now.
I really wish I found steemit earlier, so that I would be been under guidance. Are you no longer a freelancer? I miss this kind of real posts.

Please can you message me back on discord, I really want to know how steemit was in the beginning and learn a lot from you.

Lovely article, I hope you write again.

Thanks infovore. am working on a suicide/depression awareness campaign, please feel free to view my profile for contributions. Thanks

@infovore, how can I contact you personally? I need to seek your opinion on an idea I have but can't share it openly yet. are you on busy.org or steemspeak.com? I will message you there privately, please attend to my messages there when you are chanced. Thank you

Steemit.chat I'm infovore on it.

i have messaged you

It feels good to come back to writing I suppose! Happy to see the people I started with stick around! :)

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment