My 2018- This is My Hobby: Taking Part in Outreach Activities

in #my20186 years ago (edited)

DB5573AC-90F3-4923-935D-CB42BFF05824.jpeg

Some people do their hobbies to have pleasure, relaxation, leisure and self-satisfaction. Mine is different. My hobby gives a sense of fulfillment to me through helping other people.

“It is better to give than to receive.”

Since I was young, I’ve been hearing about this saying. Back then, I did not really understand its meaning. For me, when I was a child, I thought it was better receive because receiving meant that I am loved; but as I became an adult, I realized that the saying is right. It is better to give than to receive. Having the opportunity to give is a privilege because it only means that I am blessed and that I have a little more than others that’s why I have the capacity to give. There are lots of people who are less fortunate than me, and by giving or helping them in my own little ways, I give them joy and love.

My Hobby

My hobby is taking part in outreach activities or charity activities such as gift-giving events, feeding programs, fundraising programs, book-reading and playing with kids, building libraries, medical missions, and other kinds outreach programs. Recently, I became part of an advocacy in teaching self-defense to public school students.

Through the years, I have been involved in activities for these people: abandoned babies and kids, orphans, abused kids, street children, special children, children with serious illnesses, less fortunate children, abandoned elderly, retired nuns, victims of calamities, public school students, people in depressed areas of poor areas, etc.

My Journey in Taking Part of Outreach Activities

I believe that this desire to give to others started when I was young. It started in my family. I remember that when I was a kid, I feel happy when I give something to my siblings. In grade school, I get a certain amount of incentive from my parents when I get a grade of 90
and above. It was vivid to me, one day, I got a grade of above 90 in more than 5 subjects in a grading period. What I did was I bought cute wrist watches for my siblings. Giving or sharing gives me joy.

In grade school and high school, I also remember that whenever there were calamities, the school administration would ask the students to help the victims by donating canned goods, clothes and other items that could be used by the victims.

In college, I became part of 4 organizations— 2 are college-based and 2 are scholarship organizations. In our organizations, part of the annual activities are outreach activities. One activity that I remember is when we held a party for the special children. It was my first outreach activity of that kind. The kids were special but they were brilliant and sweet. They feel happy with simple things that we did for them like assisting them in the games and in eating, and simply by spending time with them.

There was also one volunteer activity that we did at Aklatan Pambata wherein we prepared some activities for some of the kids in that community and read them some books.

DB4D8220-372D-44CE-912D-0199508DCDE0.jpeg
At Aklatan Pambata

During those days, I became an officer in 3 organizations and with that, I became part of the team that organizes outreach activities.

Twelve years ago, I co-founded a group which are composed of people with common interest. My passion in helping others and taking part of outreach activities grew because of this group and because of our leader who also loves to take part of outreach activities. I was inspired by her because every year, instead of having a grand birthday celebration, she opted to celebrate with the less fortunate people. With our group, I spearhead 1-3 outreach activities yearly for different beneficiaries.

Here are some of the outreach activities I organized for our group:
[Note: Images of the beneficiaries were blurred as compliance with the institutions’ policies.]

4BF04556-7281-4C50-9658-6D6F0DD598FE.jpeg
outreach activity for children with medical conditions

4264ECD7-F90A-4F87-8352-44972FB0529C.jpeg
Christmas outreach for former street kids
[Note:Images of the beneficiaries were blurred as compliance with the institution’ policies.]

E0FD44B0-96BE-4B69-8096-2EE8C9B0F34D.jpeg
Outreach activity for abused girls
[Note:Images of the beneficiaries were blurred as compliance with the institution’ policies.]

90CB86A3-B0E9-41F7-9468-6707C1F5E596.jpeg
Charity party for former street kids and kids who were abandoned
[Note:Images of the beneficiaries were blurred as compliance with the institution’ policies.]

D0035FA0-4ABD-4FA3-AF5E-92172B5F178E.jpeg
Christmas Gift-giving with kids who were former street kids,
orphans and abandoned kids

[Note:Images of the beneficiaries were blurred as compliance with the institution’ policies.]

AC6799B7-FBB4-4037-A099-21681C0C4EBC.jpeg
Party for the kids from poor families
[Note:Images of the beneficiaries were blurred as compliance with the institution’ policies.]

D3BB372A-FD22-4FBB-85EE-86396EC0DF8E.jpeg
Outreach activity for kids with medical conditions
[Note:Images of the beneficiaries were blurred as compliance with the institution’ policies.]

It was seven years ago when I became part of a spiritual community. Our community is active in taking part and organizing outreach activities. I take part by either being part of the organizing team or by simply being a volunteer.

9FD53E1C-F447-4E19-A1DA-8D011DBDC105.jpeg
Our empowering activity and feeding program for kids from poor families

1BECAC5A-C052-4C97-9D04-5467AEBB05DE.jpeg
Medical mission for kids from a poor community

2516056B-9FFB-4244-996B-FFEC1D079BB4.jpeg
Christmas celebration with the abandoned elderly

878D542B-5950-4C6A-90DD-1DBA1E8D3349.jpeg
Gift-giving and feeding program for the women at the Correctional Institute
[Note:Images of the beneficiaries were blurred as compliance with the institution’ policies.]

56264FF0-67DC-43A4-B23E-43AFF28FEFDF.jpeg
Making the retired nuns happy through our special program for them. We were the first to conduct an outreach activity for them.

486129FE-9C71-41BB-A6D2-3156AC1287A1.jpeg
medical mission for kids from poor families and former street children

I am also a part of an organization for women. Part of our activities are charity projects.

8A0F3926-07E8-4C8A-B1EC-34F5A5EC5DFA.jpeg
outreach activity for the kids from poor families
[Note:Images of the beneficiaries were blurred as compliance with the institution’ policies.]

Last year, I became part of the uDEFEND Project which was founded and spearheaded by Ms. @janicehung. I feel blessed to meet a person who has the same desire in helping other people. It is our advocacy to teach self-defense to women and children. As a way to give back to the community, Ms. @janicehung also developed the uDEFEND Charity Project. The beneficiaries of this project are public school students, who are taught self-defense for free, since they are the ones who don’t have a capacity to enroll in such a class. By teaching the students the uDEFEND program, they will be able to defend themselves in times of need.

5BB310D9-D80D-4AC4-8F63-EA7474435FA8.jpeg
uDEFEND Charity Project with public school students from Payatas B Annex Elementary School

C9678A6A-CA2D-41B0-9D86-43FF16486333.jpeg
with my co-volunteers and uDEFEND Project Founder, Ms. @janicehung

102858AB-ED00-4CA0-BA12-B5B651B29C7B.jpeg
uDEFEND Project: with the women of San Lorenzo

8FC9F026-39F6-4BC2-B4D8-85613AF3BB33.jpeg
with my co-volunteers and Ms. @janicehung

How Can A Person Take Part of Outreach Activities?

There are three common ways to help others and be part of outreach activities— giving TIME, TALENT and TREASURE.

Some people can help using their time. This can be in ways like by helping in the preparations, by running errands, or by simply volunteering during the activity.

Some people can help using their talent. They can help by organizing the activity, by giving ideas, by making use of their talent and gifts whenever needed for the success of the activity.

Lastly, some people can give their treasure through donations. This is also important because the funds will be used for expenses for the outreach activity like materials, equipment, food, transportation expenses, etc. The funds can also be used for the gifts or donations to the beneficiaries or institutions.

**I Encourage You To Take Part in Outreach Activities **

Taking part in an outreach activity is a hobby that gives me joy and also fulfillment. By helping others, I am able to add value in their lives and give them love and joy that is priceless. They may forget me and the other volunteers but they will never forget how we made them feel.

With this, I encourage you to also take part of an outreach activity. You may share whatever it is that you have— time, talent or treasure.

If you want to donate for the Udefend Project
You can send SBD to @udefendproject or @janicehung
and write in the memo Udefend Project.

F2A2C9D8-86A9-4E28-AD02-C17AB887B9F7.gif

Sort:  

Awesome hobby! It is indeed better to give than to receive.

Thank you😀

I admire you for being generous and very compassionate in helping to other people. It is seldom nowadays to see a person like you who have a big heart and dedicated yourself helping to the less fortunate people. Your hobby is awesome and great. Kudos to you ma'am. keep it up!

Never met you, but I love you and love your heart! Giving is always more blessed! It is not just a hobby, but a passion ans a way of life. It is what God made you for!
Eph 2:10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.
Following! Resteeming Upvote
God bless!
Daddy William

Thank you for your kind words and for that Bible passage. 😀

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by clairefabella from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.