My 2018 - This is my Hobby: Playing and watching football

in #my20186 years ago

Hello steemians. I do hope that you all are doing just fine. This is my entry for the contest organized by @anomadsoul. I want to take a moment to thank @anomadsoul for such a thoughtful contest, this contest will go a long way in helping steemians express themselves well and also write on that, which they are most desirable with, and probably on that which gives them joy. Special thanks also goes to @blocktrades, the beautiful work you guys do for the steemit community does not go unnoticed. God bless you all. I really appreciate also, I am sure other steemians do too

I have quite a truck load of hobbies, but there is this one that gives me so much joy. Actually I would say it is made just for my happiness… hahaha. It is no other, than the beautiful game of FOOTBALL. You might be wondering about this, but football is my therapy, as well as my ailment. Over the years, football has been a game that has had so much publicity and influx of finance. A successful footballer earns thousands of dollars and euros weekly, that is to tell you how powerful a game it is.
PhotoFunia-1521576297.jpg
Source

WHY I FEEL PASSION FOR FOOTBALL AND HOW I PICKED FOOTBALL AS A HOBBY

The game of football comprise of watching and playing it. I enjoy the two and engage actively in them, I find it hard to pick one above the other though. I fell in love with the game of football right from childhood; this was basically due to the fact that MY DAD was a part time coach for a football club in my community. My memory is ever fresh with them; he would always take me alongside my brother to the football pitch, where he gets to meet his players. He would take them on training sessions ranging from push-ups, gymnastics, running and match tactics before allowing them to play.

As a kid, I unconsciously fell in love with following him to the football pitch for the trainings; I started with being a ball-boy (someone who picks balls when it goes beyond the football field). Some of the players would tell a joke about how I will be a great footballer one day with the manner to which I put in so much dedication to it. As time went on, I started playing with other kids who also came around to watch, I would be practicing some skills I saw, while watching the players (I still relish those memories), such a beautiful feeling it was. My dad one day saw me and said I could be great if I put in more effort and dedication. Those words from him still ring a bell in my ears; i guess it was the best motivation I could get, judging that it was from a coach and also my DAD.

Also, my dad really liked football to the extent that he would make sure we watched the world cups, league cups and African nation’s cup whenever it is being played on the television. My house without plans became a hub where viewers would come to watch football. All these activities unconsciously grew my LOVE AND DESIRE for football as a hobby and sport.

I enrolled into a junior youth team during my high school days; I was the captain of my team and won many trophies for the junior team. Tongues started rolling out, people clamoring, and with high hopes I was already destined to be the NEXT BIG THING.

Here are pictures I took while I was in high school---6 years ago. I had to dig very deep and ran search my archives to get this. You can see how old they are.
IMG_20180320_201254.jpg(with my team mates)

IMG-20140724-03170.jpg(me while jogging the ball)

THINGS I LOVE ABOUT THE BEAUTIFUL GAME OF FOOTBALL

I love the game of football because it gives you an opportunity to express your God given talent, either as a player, viewer or a coach just like my DAD. As time went on i couldn’t live a full week without playing football. Weekends became booked for me as I would have to go to the viewing center to see my FAVORITE TEAM—CHELSEA. Yes, I am a CHELSEA fan. Football became my addiction and is my addiction, though it is in decreased state as compared to when I was younger.

I love the game of football because it encourages unity amongst participants, I met many people as a football player, people on a normal day, I wouldn’t get to meet. I met my roommate back then in college from my youth team.

I also love the game of football because it has United Nations of the world. The world cup which is about the biggest competition has united different races, encouraged togetherness and oneness.

I also love it because it alleviates poverty and unemployment. While, I was in school we won tournaments that translated into monetary gains, which I used to off-set some bills

On a bigger platform. South Africa which hosted the last world cup had a massive increase in revenue due to the world cup they hosted.

HOW EXPENSIVE IS MY HUBBY?

The game of football is not expensive to engage in, every person out there can easily get access to a football field, football and viewing center to see their favorite team. I spend less than a dollar to watch my team play a match, the cost is about a 100 naira or less depending on your location. Football does not just give me emotional reward OR COST ME FORTUNES. RATHER, I have made some cash from the various tournaments I have won and engaged in

AM I AN AMATEUR OR ADEPT IN FOOTBALL?

I would say I am an adept when it comes to the game of football, I know I play better than most professional footballers, the injury is a challenge for now though. Also, hardly can I be swept away by any question concerning my BEST HOBBY. I can be your consultant if you wish…hahaha. I am proud to say that I am a footballer. My favorite wing is the number 9 wing, I have banged lots of goals playing as a striker. I had a major injury after a tournament last two years, I broke my leg and I had to take a break from playing for a while, even though my legs itch so much to get back on the pitch.
I am so going to get back into playing soon as my injury is healing rapidly; I have started little trainings and possibly would get into form very soon.

Here are pictures I took with my team mates during my last play on the pitch BEFORE MY INJURY.
IMG_20180320_201230.jpg(during a competition)
So I had to concentrate on watching football. When I started this entry, I mentioned how football is my therapy and I think I have explained how. Now, I also said it is my ailment. My long term injury which almost cost me my leg was as a result of football.

Also, I have received heart breaks whenever my team CHELSEA loses a match. I usually would become sad, and might not have appetite for food for a while---that is how much the game of football means to me.

HOW MUCH I GET TO PRACTICE MY HOBBY AND SACRIFICES I MAKE

Then, about sacrifices, I get to sacrifice my time to be able to play or watch the beautiful game of football. It lasts for an hour and 30 minutes, so between these periods, I only get to be with my TV or be at the viewing center or field also. My family knows how much I enjoy this game, so we hardly get conflicts over this, especially when I don’t get to stay with them because of it.

I get to watch football every week of the day. It has become a normal routine for me. There is a kind of feeling, a feeling of joy each time I remember am going to see a match. Football has so gotten into me that I spend hours arguing over football players, matches and previews. I also get to research a lot about my team, football players and football in general. Hit me up for your football update

GENERAL ADVICE ON HOW TO BE SUCCESFUL IN MY HOBBY

To become a very good footballer or fan, you need to take your training sessions seriously, with dedication and commitment. Those were what I have learnt over time.
Then to be a coach, like my DAD, you need to undergo a course and get your coaching badge. I do a little of coaching though, it is actually from the little I learnt from my DAD.
Constant research and up to date information can help in staying up to date with happenings in the world of football

HOW I CAN EXPLAIN MY HOBBY TO AN ALIEN

Firstly, I believe an alien has missed quite some happiness AND BENEFITS for not knowing this beautiful sport. I would have to explain the benefits of playing or watching football to them first. The reality is that people often wouldn’t pick interest if they stand to benefit nothing from an adventure or idea. When I have made them understand the benefit, I will get into the basics proper. From how to kick a ball, joggle a ball, stay fit and eventual tactics of the game
For ones that will be interested in coaching---Understanding the mind and temperament of your players is very important. You bring out the best in them, when you are able to touch them well with your words and actions. So these set of people will learn UNDERSTANDING HUMANS (FOOTBALL PLAYERS)

FUTURE PROJECTS I PLAN DOING FROM MY HOBBY

I hope I can get to host a STEEM TOURNAMENT soon in my community. I am planning that; funds obviously would be a challenge. The future looks bright though. I want to use the tournament to evangelize and spread the gospel of steemit. It has been a desire ever since I joined steemit.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME. BEST WISHES

Sort:  

Wish you success in this contest.. Cheers, nice piece.

Thanks so much bro. I appreciate

I love football so much also and guess what.... I'm also a CHELSEA fan!

Good job bro.

That's so good to know. Chelsea fans are wonderful people. Keep steeming

Thanks for the feedback

My best game is scrabble anytime any day.

Scrabble is cool but not my thing anyways.

me, i don't know what is wrong with me. I hate to watch, but i love to play. Is that even possible?

Lol... You need to synchronize the two. I believe you lack the patience to see, that's why. Why not try giving it time and some patience

hmmmmm. I'll try oh. I'll try

That is nice. Good luck on the contest

Thanks you bro. Keep steeming

Congratulations!!!
your post was selected for a random upvote and resteem!
Follow @resteemmypost to increase your chance of being upvoted again!!!

You can also help by delegating SP to @resteemmypost or send a little donations to @resteemmypost . The main purpose of this service is to help all minnows with good contents resteem and upvote their post.

Thanks alot for the reesteem. I appreciate you guys

Football is one of the most celebrated sport in the world

I also love football but I'm a Madrid (greatest football club in the world) fan

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Donnest from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.