My 2018 tour: The city of Uyo

in #my20186 years ago

Uyo is located in the province of Aiwa Ibom, and is also the city I was born and raised in. I have been doing sections of my city, in piece by piece articles, but I thought the My2018 - A tour around my town challenge by @anomadsoul and @blocktrades was the perfect way to put everything in one post .

If we start off as if we were coming from Eket, you would most likely take the highway 402. Uyo is actually featured alot on the T.V. show Heavy Rescue 401 due to the highway running right through us. The Highway 402 is a section of the 400 series highway which ultimately leads to The E-library. The library is a beautiful structure that I go into more detail about in my Exploring Uyo.
The E- library is one of the most beautiful be true sana round here.
It is the only e-library i west Africa and this has a way of increasing out sense of pride.
Below is the image of the library image image

Now, let me take you to the Ibeno beach
the beach is thriving in the summer. We have lifeguards and beach volleyball. Just a nice relaxing spot. Plus I can take the kids there and they don't bug me for hours! Yay! The beach resides inside Ibeno Park. The park holds our main festivity Uyo day. I could spend many hours here. Just magnificent. image
image image

Within the inside of the town things are pretty typical. There are Walmart super centers, grocery stores and major retailers. There are some pretty awesome local places. Like one place you may have seen on Facebook is Rice farmThey are known for making the local. I have had one and they were delicious! If you come this way I would definately recommend it.
image
Ibom tropicana

Food
Our food will make the top list in world ranking, we have egusi soup
Afang soup
Edikan Ikong image

One of my favourite things to do within the town is walk the trail. You may have seen me write about walking on them. They are absolutely beautiful and relaxing. The trails are old CN railroad tracks that have been taken out. We have many old tracks here. Some are still in use and some are not. I sure am glad some of them got changed into trails, as I take most of my summer walks there.

Even though Uyo is just a small city with a population of around 90,000 people, we have many fun and interesting things to explore. I am learning more and more about my own city as I make these posts. Uyo is slowly growing and maybe one day we will be able to get rid of the bad things that lie within. Even though every city has its ups and its downs. I however will be staying put for now, and enjoy the many benefits Uyo has to offer