My 2018: A Tour around my town: through my lens

in #my20186 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!!! This is my entry for @anomadsoul 's contest on my town. You all should check out his blog about this contest. He is an awesome nomad and traveller. I participated in his contests last year and I must say, although I didn't win, the contest was awesome. It's a new year now and I am hoping more contests like this follow. A big thanks to @blocktrades for sponsoring and making this contest possible and great job @anomadsoul for initiating this.


I live in Edo State, Nigeria in the ancient city of Benin. I am a photographer and I would like to talk about my town in a unique manner. Over the years, I have been able to capture pictures in Benin that show the life, people, buildings and the beauty of this city. I will be sharing these pictures while I tell you a bit about my town



Benin as a city is known as a cradle of black civilisation and from the rising of the sun to its setting,
Benin offers anyone who would explore the town a variety of experiences and encounters. Being a relatively peaceful town, it boasts of different architectural structures and awesome landscape and nature.
.
Benin is known for her bronze casting which made the city very popular in the 20th century. and the impact of the British colonialists can be felt in everyday Benin life .
The people of Benin have very diverse religious beliefs . Traditional worship of local gods is predominant in the town but Christianity and Islam are also given a lot of recognition in the city.

The local dishes are definitely to die for as the city boasts of awesome local dishes like melon soup popularly known as egusi soup

There are lots of other appetizing dishes like roasted plantain known as boli . We also have other amazing mouth watering dishes and our parties never disappoint.


The people of Benin city are awesome .They are fighters and hustlers that know the importance of life, solidarity and loyalty.








Sure there are those who have it better than others but everyone shares a general one spirit and camaraderie. The people of the town also very industrious and engage in lot of activities to make ends meet.




I'd have a lot more to say about this beautiful city but I just want to stop here and say anyone who decides to come into Nigeria should definitely stop at Benin city and check out all she has to offer. You definitely won't regret it.


Thanks again @anomadsoul and @blocktrades for making this contest possible. I hope to participate in more contests like this. Cheers!!

All images are original works of @thejotographer

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture challenge. Good Luck.

Nice pics bro...u rock