How do I use MYCELIC MORPHOID in the battle?

3RTd4iuWD6NUeJEn5AVrJUoyatFqBqfcCJi1N7UixR4g2KPKN7w8NpZL7qrJ4ETeGdj5C8fSCmkKo5eS7b6ztkg9n6LsnG9y45aUsTbQJCat9cfQujLxSDJMHoJHgQgM41xHDt2tydrAEeS1vv874EJHqyFNygiNkwHpWk4fSqmCiJ.png

MYCELIC MORPHOID is a 1 mana earth common card. It has 1 melee attack, 1 speed and 2 health at initial level.
When it's upgraded to level 3, it gains the ability of Thorns.
When it's upgraded to level 5 and level 9, it gains additional melee attack. On level 7 it gains additional speed.

image.png

Here's what chose and strategies:

Among all those gains, the Thorns ability significantly extended its functionality for my personal understanding. That's also why i chose to upgrade it until the thorns ability.

Generally, I use Mycelic Morphoid to consume opponent's core monsters or gain 1-2 attack for my core monsters.

Here is how I used it :

  1. Use it as a filler card to fill the empty slot
    • Just want to get all positions filled.
  2. Use its low health to protect the core monster
    • In this case, I need to estimate/guess what likely the opponent will use: Opportunity or Sneak abilities for its position in front or behind the core monsters.
  3. Use its thorns ability to consume the opponent's core monster
    • This strategy is most likely used when we know the majority will be Melee attack monsters
    • To extend his survival and damage to opponent, I will add the shield for him(Queen Mycelia). Increase his speed(Supply runner)or decrease opponent's speed (Ooze) to gain him a little bit chance to off from their attack. off course if I can have a strength monster it will be even better(So far I don't have one).
  4. One of special cases, I use it as the main Tank
    • This works when the ruleset has equalizer.
    • By using him as the main tank, I can save 6-7 Mana to build more powerful killing force.
  5. Use it as one of the core killing force (I didn't use much)
    • I don't use this often as it will works well when it's at level 7 and very low mana battle
    • And also the rulesets of "Equal opportunity", "Super sneak" and "Melee Mayhem" will have him thrive.

With all these ways of using, here I share 2 battles that I did with him.

Battle #1 - Use it as a filler to extend the tank's stand

This is a 21 mana with reverse speed battle.
In this battle , the Hill giant is my main tank. Morphoid and Fiend were used as filler cards to extend hill giant's stand and hopefully the opponent's tank could be consumed with Morphoid's thorns. As mentioned above, i add the shield for the entire team to extend their stand.

IMG_20220415_071922.jpg

Here's how it works out. In my opinion, both morphoid and fiend did a good job in this battle significantly extended Hill giant's stand and bought good enough attack to ruin opponent's entire frontline. Finally I won this battle.

IMG_20220415_071841.jpg

Battle #2 - Use it as the front line tank with equalizer ruleset.

Luckily, system matched me with one of our guild mate - @LEARNSMID As the welcome ceremony 🤣

This is a 26 mana with the rulesets of fog of war and Equalizer.
This is a very good opportunity to maximize the mana on core killing monster with Morphoid as the main tank. So I did it and in order to secure my frontline will not be tore down too fast, I put the mini tank Regal Peryton right after the Morphoid. Again, to extend his stand, I added the shield and Tank heal for him.

IMG_20220415_071759.jpg

Here's how it works out. Morphoid did a good job to consumed both DragonJumper and Deeplurker's health although it does not really killed both of them.
I believe if the Queen Mycelia could be upgraded to level 2 to enable the amplifier. my frontline should not even broken. 😂 Nevertheless at the end, the battle went not bad I won the battle even I loss my entire frontline.

IMG_20220415_071735.jpg

Thanks for reading. Hope you enjoy this sharing.