You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Curie Story - How a @curie upvote changed my life.

pretty cool story, I had a similar (but not as dramatic) upvoted post from @curie and a massive @hendrikdegrote vote was part of it. I posted a pretty detailed post about the hobby I do that my son, @jakeybrown, convinced me was the reason I should be on Steemit. It took a few months but one post I made (out of a three part storyline) got over 250 votes and around $75 (which dropped like a rock as it was the week crypto took a major loss. But anyway, that got me pretty excited. however, I then was back to my usual less than a $1 posts so the enthusiasm waned a bit, but there has been one or two other minor curie supported post ( around $5) and @carlgnash has been the main contact from curie for my posts. The frustrating part for me is, how the posts are determined to be selected, I may post an awesome post about something, only to see peanuts and a dozen votes with the randomly picked post getting some minor attention. All in all, I have to admit, it is a pretty cool group to do the supporting that they do, so great to see this post. Thanks

Sort:  

Hi @bigskycustoms, if you visit us on Discord you can read the guidelines (pinned notes) but one relevant point is authors are unlikely to receive multiple Curie votes on the same subject. It is of course a reality that Curie cannot support every author and every post, even if quality :) We would love to expand operations farther but are currently operating at a deficit.
https://discord.gg/G6RPUMu

thanks for the clarification, that is good to know, I will try to get to the discord page for Curie. I really don't have a lot of time to spend on discord but I will make an effort for this. Appreciate your support for my posts. thanks again.

But I have seen people who get Curied for every post they make. I wonder what the criteria are for them to get those?

You can read the whitepaper that I link to in the bottom of the post, but the short answer is those are not "real" Curie votes. They are not votes coming from a post submitted by Curie curator and reviewed by Curie reviewer. Curie supports many "sub-communities", interest or regional specific communities of curators (e.g. #steemstem is one famous sub-community that Curie supports). The @curie vote trails behind the sub-community curation team's vote at a reduced %. When you see an author receiving a number of small Curie votes regularly, they are receiving support from one of those sub-communities. Often you can tell which one by checking the tags, e.g. #steemstem tag and small Curie vote indicates support from SteemStem community, #nigeria tag would indicate support from the Nigerian sub-community, etc. These sub-communities are independent operations, Curie is supporting their curation efforts but is not directly responsible for them.

Oh ok, I guess it's the subcommunity then. I think it was indeed a steemstem tagged post. Thanks for the info.

Do u have a list of subcommunities?

Yes the list of sub-communities and sub-community leaders is published every Sunday on the @curie blog's Weekly Update.

Oh i see. Ok thanks.

Hey Carl, not sure if you want me to keep alerting you to post about custom figures or not, let me know but i made a new one today