myetherwallet 12 ETH stolen after logging in

in #myetherwallet7 years ago (edited)

I just lost all my ETH in my wallet.... more than 2hours ago, I was going to send some ETH to an ICO thru myetherwallet which has 12 ETHs. but when I went to see it, it was 0, and check transactions and it says 10 minutes ago I sent it out but I didnt.. how did they get my private key or how they hacked my account.. I am thinking is it due to that 2 days ago I almost sent all my ETH to a fake district airdrop but didnt after checking online it was a scam.. then I think I registered my ETH address on the scam site. so on my history there is this data... "0x7bfc13ec39121928c80edfa7cff512385a3644fa68a95c42acce21e7e67a40e5 4206305 2 days 23 hrs ago 0x1666b810c8a9dcd9f4e57b9c2a0782e99c455483 OUT district0xTokenContract 0 Ether 0.002257983" that was 2 days ago. So were they able to make my private key after knowing my ETH address? or they hacked my computer when I got online... now I got this data of myetherwallet.. 0x5c5c49b02b8e31afd43159d6bdb5af8b23e697e5a6c96d4285acc05d32baba59 4216501 1 hr 24 mins ago 0x1666b810c8a9dcd9f4e57b9c2a0782e99c455483 OUT 0x67610daa332baafa42061a62fadc121bc725ce00 12.9059135635 Ether 0.000441 I am in trouble as I owe the bank for this 12ETH and lost job for 6 months now.. so need ETH..
So I learned that dont leave your ETH wallet address online or register online without checking it, you might get hacked... of my own stupidity, I learned the hard way... please be careful... if you would like to help and donate send ETH to 0xB4Cb44cfBfC050Ad98fBAb6ac26C7c4B8caaebD9 God bless you!

Sort:  

You should check your pc you might have a rootkit installed, maybe your web browser was hijacked visiting a webpage. If it is so, you are not free of danger yet. You should change all your passwords too, OS and mail included, but not before scanning your pc.

Better to use firefox with adblock and noscript activated and activate java only if you need it and only when you know what you are doing.

Use one offline antivirus software to check it, maybe something like hirens boot usb or cd. Also try actualizing your OS too.

Or you might just format your pc and reinstall from scratch.

Thanks Kokoliso, I am using Chrome in an iMac... I dont know how to find the hijacker.. no clue how they did this.. as I know I went online and I think thats how they got it but how.... I remember I just installed STEAM software couple of days back but didnt play it, dont know if thats what caused it... is there a software to check these on an Imac? I also worry about checking my accounts in exchanges too..

I am no MAC expert but, you can use firefox in mac too, with all the plugins for adblock and noscript. Use it when you visit suspect pages, and maybe the exchanges too.

Steam should be safe if you install it from the legit page.

Also you could have no rootkit, and only you pressed on the wrong link when entering myetherwallet, if you reach the wrong web then they can copy your private key, they are always telling this:
Always check the URL and look for MYETHERWALLET LLC [US] Certificate up there. Look for https://www.myetherwallet.com/.
Check your web history if you went to a different page but that was alike.

Also check your DNS, I mean, sometimes they hijack your DNS settings so that you write www.aaaa.aaa and it gives you a bogus ip with a copy of your bank web page or a copy of your ether wallet and then they just steal your passwords as you type them.
Sometimes if you connect from a public wifi you can get hijacked or get a false web, don't connect from public wifis unless you use VPN.
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/1571236?tstart=0

Congratulations @axzle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!