My introduction to the Hive community

in #myhiveintro4 years ago

Hello everyone,

My name is Tobias and some of you may remember me from a while ago when I was much more active on the Steem. I slowly lost interest in Steem, but after many months of inactivity. I thought the introduction initiative was the perfect opportunity to re-introduce myself to the community and what my plans are for Hive.

Like many others on Hive, my interest in blockchain and cryptocurrency was first sparked by Steem, it posed as an easy way to get involved with cryptocurrency without needing to risk your hard-earned money (I did invest in Steem in the end). I'm sure as many of you will admit, I saw the post payouts and wanted to get signed up. Not long after joining I realized that like anything, it takes time to build your blog and those payouts aren't as easy, but that didn't stop me and instead, I stayed for the community.

When I joined it was at the peak of bull run and there were so many different applications available on Steem, you didn't need to be a blogger to earn that precious Steem everyone wanted (and you still don't). I found myself as a consistent contributor to utopian.io and selection of other applications built on Steem, I found myself regularly contributing and talking to several people who I met here.

Anyone who remembers me will likely remember me from utopian.io, both as a regular contributor and as a moderator. When utopian.io eventually ended I found myself uninterested in Steem, I kind of lost the main thing I was involved in, that combined with unfulfilled promises from Steemit inc and the amount of time it was taking in my life, I lost my motivation to remain active.

I believe my value to Hive can be helping create applications that users love, and as I mentioned previously, I'm not much of a blogger, I'm more focussed on development. I created a few different things on Steem, both for my projects and for others. A few of the things I created can be seen below:

Contest Hero

A web application focussed on allowing people to create contests easier on the Steem blockchain.

image.png

Steem Gigs

A digital marketplace to allow people to seek services of others, fully built on the Steem blockchain.

image.png

Teardrops Landing Page

A future token created by @surpassinggoogle

image.png

Since the launch of Hive, the amount of work that has already been done has inspired me to come back and find my place within the community. I do feel there is a lot of opportunity for a platform like this, and now with a team that can make that happen, I feel we're poised to make that happen faster than ever before.

I have a few ideas for applications that I'd like to build here of Hive and plan to get started on a few of those in the coming weeks. Stay tuned, I'll post about my progress on Hive when I have something tangible to show you all 🎉

If anyone needs help on their project I might be interested to get involved too, I mainly use Angular or Vue, Node.js and SQL or MongoDB. Leave me a comment 👍

Anyway, I'm looking forward to what the future brings for Hive and all the different applications that will pop up. I think everyone has been doing a great job so far and glad to be here for the journey.

Have a great day everyone.


Have you introduced yourself to Hive?

The introduction initiative was published by @anomadsoul and is sponsored by @blocktrades and @ocd. You can see the announcement post here.

Sort:  

It's inspiring! Congrats on being back!

So glad to read this.

All the best with Quello!

Great :) So are we likely to see something like Contest Hero for HIVE?

I'll be focussing on Quello for the foreseeable future, however contest hero is open source so anyone could pick it up and run with it 😀