A Steemit Blogger Returns From The Wilderness

in #myhuntingfishing6 years ago (edited)

lost1.jpg

I have not written much in the days of late, and it has made me a bit anxious, unsettled, and well...lost. A writer can get that way, or so I have heard, and it is something that I have tried to teach myself to avoid.

Perhaps you are familiar with the feeling?

But as many of you know, sometimes other work, and the unavoidable responsibilities of everyday life, can seriously impede a call to fun and greater duty.

So, I thought I might start again by traveling back in time to a place where it all started for me, at least in the writing department.

The photograph above is of the front cover of the first short story that I ever completed. It resulted from a special assignment by my 7th grade English teacher, who must have suspected that I was somehow ready for it. He was a good man, and a great encourager of the written word. I owe him a great debt of gratitude for nudging me in the right direction.

I could not tell you why I have kept it after all of these years, nor how I have managed not to lose it through so many miles and so many moves. I did not even know where it was until just the other day. Hunting around for something else in a long forgotten drawer, I looked down, and there it be.

You could say that finding it was a bit of a shock to my system, and it made me sit, as a wave of images came flooding in.

Traveling back in time can be quite an adventure all to itself, and sometimes, one must prepare. I have not reread it in full quite yet, as if, I suppose, I am not completely ready. But I can say that I remember quite a bit of the story, as if I wrote it just yesterday. That is a surprise, considering it has been almost five decades since it was fresh on my mind.

lost2.jpg

I won't bore you with too much of the early literary ramblings of a twelve year old, but I can tell you that it had everything to do with wilderness adventure, survival, and an out of control and vindictive wolverine.

Imagine that...

lost3.jpg

I would be remiss if I did not mention that my story was no doubt modeled after the books of Jim Kjelgaard, of "Big Red" fame. He was a great inspiration to me, and to countless boys everywhere.

But that...is another story.

For now all I can say is thanks, to the teachers and writers before me, and those yet to come.

And it's very nice to come home, to memories past, and words, and that big, big outdoor world!

By Michael Patrick McCarty

lost4.jpg

Active Member Outdoor Writers Association of America, and An Ambassador For @myhuntingfishing blog and #myhuntingfishing Community

Come On In - The Water Is Wild, and Free...

“Time is the hunter of all men, and no one knows this better than we do. That knowledge gives us perspective, and direction. A hunter is never lost in this great big world, not in life, nor even in death…" - Michael Patrick McCarty

animal-world-3065318_640.jpg
The Wolverine. The Native Americans Called him "Carcajou”, or Mountain Devil.

Image Source https://pixabay.com/en/animal-world-mammal-nature-animal-3065318/

Sort:  

Your talent was already apparent. I'd love to see the entire story reprinted here. Really. Come on, I'll give you my full .07 cent vote if you do!! Yes, some teachers fulfilled their calling to not only educate but inspire. You were fortunate. Blessings.

I concur with @mistermercury and @myhuntingfishing—if the rest of the story is anything like the sneak peek you gave us, I'd suggest putting it up here.

It reads like someone much older wrote it.

I've got a 32-year-old graphic novel (in pencil) currently serializing at two or so pages at a time, mostly for fun. I don't even consider myself much of an artist, either, so you don't even have to be particularly happy with or fond of what you wrote back then to post it.

In my case, while you were seeking adventure in the far north, I was into science fiction/fantasy and superhero comic books. Unfortunately, most of that doesn't allow me to go or do something with it, like the outdoors would. So, I've always been less fond of the cold (even more so as I've aged), and while I'd love to retire to a tropical island somewhere, I'd be happy with a more temperate zone the Northwest that doesn't cost me an arm and a leg to live in. :)

That is soo cool! You are still doing everything you love and wrote about. That is the one thing I lacked as a child - a vision of what I wanted to do and the ability to focus my future. I loved the story from a young boy with obvious talent :D

Thank you - I am just lucky that way I guess. But speaking for myself, sometimes spontaneous, and wild, is best...Best!

Sometimes you've got to sit down and take that trip down memory lane. It helps put life into a perspective we don't always obtain from the daily grind. The things we learn as children shape us in more lasting ways than I would ever have imagined as a kid. You did show great talent in those early writings. Much better than the "book" I attempted to write in 7th grade. Those books of survival had a big impact on me as well and I actually wanted to be a mountain man during most of my youth.

Thanks for sharing this with us! I think it would be great if you shared the whole book with us but I will leave that up to you, my friend.

Kind words, as always. We are kindred spirits, no doubt. Something about the mountain men, the trappers, and the far north have always fascinated me. Perhaps that is why I never feel very comfortable in those tropical climes. And yet, the cold is getting a little old too...Thanks again.

We do have a bit in common! I think a lot of things changed for me when I spent two years in a tropical climate. I loved it in many ways but I did long for cooler temps occasionally. Now, I long for the tropics during the cold rainy winters.

Reading the few words you posted from your book, I was surprised as ever to then read that you were only 12. I'm glad to see that you have taken this talent and made it your home. Very inspirational, great post!

Come On In - The Water Is Wild, and Free...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by huntbook from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 1.21 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @myhuntingfishing.

You got a 9.92% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @nickbuha!