Listening For The End Of Winter

in #myhuntingfishing6 years ago (edited)

muledeerendofwinter2.jpg

The last days of snow and cold in the Rocky Mountains bring forth an almost mystical anticipation, and perhaps no one knows that more than the mule deer. For good reason too, because winter here can be a long, frozen road to travel.

I took this photograph just a few days ago, in what may turn out to be our last winter storm of the season in western Colorado.

The mulie is a patient creature, always willing to face the day with optimism and eternal vigilance. After all, you simply must, when so many things with teeth wish to eat you.

But no doubt, they too have had quite enough of wind, and the color of white, for now. Perhaps most famous for those iconic, antenna-like ears, you can almost watch them listening, for the murmurings, and tiny stirrings, of an awakening earth.

Can you hear it?

For in Spring, there is hope, always hope, and green grass growing...

Here's to spring, and what lies ahead!

By Michael Patrick McCarty

muledeerendofwinter.jpg

Active Member Outdoor Writers Association of America, and An Ambassador For @myhuntingfishing blog and #myhuntingfishing Community

Come On In - The Water Is Wild, and Free...

"How imperceptibly the first springing takes place!" - Henry David Thoreau

"The world’s favorite season is the spring.
All things seem possible in May."
—Edwin Way Teale, Naturalist and Author

dandelionspring.jpg

Image Source https://pixabay.com/en/spring-spring-flower-dandelion-342610/

Sort:  

March has turned out to be our one month of winter this year in the Sierra's. But spring is just around the corner. My dogs are anxious to get out in the warm sunshine. I've been meaning to ask: where do you live? By Cortez or farther north? I'm actually considering a move. We're getting way too many California refugees here... and frankly, I consider it a possibility that indeed the SHIT may HTF one of these days and would like to be somewhere else when that happens. Blessings.

We had a very mild winter here, but still it seems like it takes forever to make the change to spring. When it finally does though, it happens fast. I live farther north, near the Glenwood Springs area. It's a great place, but lots of changes going on here too. The SHTF scenarios are always on my mind. I hate to say it, but I thing many things are going to get far worse before they get better. I am preparing as best I can. If and when you get serious about a move, I would be happy to give you some of my ideas on the matter. My guess is that things are about to get real interesting...Blessings to you.

Yes, one tries to maintain a peaceful, optimistic attitude, however, there are so many crazy, ominous things going on in the world that it's reasonable to consider TSmayHTF. Sometime soon. My challenge is I have 5 of my kids and their families over here plus 2 of my foster sons. Makes it difficult to move. But, on the other hand this is too close to major population centers for my comfort. We shall see.

Hi @huntbook :) When I look through the #myhuntingfishing posts I see so many wonderful posts featuring catches and tropheys from their huntingfishing trips. This causes me to hesitate using the #myhuntingfishing tag on my posts that in comparison feel more like gear reviews. I feel like if I was cooking a nice trout on my stove that my post would be a shoe in. I'm careful not to muddy the #myfishinghunting tag waters, but let me know if any of my posts should have the #myfishinghunting tag and i'll proudly make room for it and add it to the post. This week I will be doing a crossbow explanation and instructional post that i will have the #myfishinghunting tag on it, unless i should save that tag until I go turkey hunting with it :) I will be doing some fishing this spring and summer with my son :)

That sounds good. And don't forget, we can be real gear heads too, when it helps us be more comfortable, or successful. Maybe you will have more reasons to go fishing...

Best!

Beautiful pics and a great story. I always love stuff about Colorado.

I have a feeling that this year is going to be good for dandelions, not so good for landscapers like myself. Great post!

Yes, the mighty dandelion. Now there's a survivor. I have always wanted to make an effort to hunt them up in the spring for salads and such, and I would love to make some dandelion wine. Of course, one would need to find a supply far away from the chemicals and other things. I can certainly do that where I live, when I'm not hunting turkeys...Best!

The Tree of Life, or Etz haChayim (עץ החיים) has upvoted you with one of 10 divine emanations (Sephiroth) of Gods creation itself ex nihilo. We reveal Light by transforming our Desire to Receive for Ourselves to a Desire to Receive for Others. Please support us and upvote this comment or donate or follow and reveal this hidden motivational force.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 19:32:01
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 78.20/100.00
Total Photos: 12
Total comments: 17
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great photo! Oh, the hope of spring! May it show its warm face soon for you and the lovely mule deer as well.

"The mulie is a patient creature, always willing to face the day with eternal vigilence." Ty

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by huntbook from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.