Walk With Me/Fish With Me At a Private Pond

All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien



Experienced fishing guide, Rocky!


Walk With Me/Fish With Me At a Private Pond

A day after my close call with a heron/egret enforcer, I met up with my brother-in-law(safety in numbers) to hit a private pond not to far from where we live. I have fished this pond before with my daughter, but it has been many years and I remember the pond being much smaller.

I drove over to my BIL's house to follow him over to the pond. Of course, he was not ready yet and needed to hit a local store for some crickets and worms. Once the needed provisions were acquired, we headed over to the pond. We drove through miles of back country roads and the views were amazing. I wish I would have captured a few shots or some video, but I got caught slipping.

Once we arrived, I pulled into the driveway and saw the pond unfold before me. It is much bigger than I remember. We were warmly greeted by the homeowner and his trusty security/fishing guide, Rocky.(Pictured above) Apparently, Rocky loves guests because we could barely get out of the vehicles without him jumping in and running around barking and howling his head off.



Private Pond



Far end of the pond.


It is just a short walk down to the edge of the pond and I could already see some impressively sized bass swimming along the shore line. There is a wooden picnic table near the water and we set that up as a "base camp" for the tackle and extra rods. My BIL is mainly a spinning rod man and he just recently has taken up the high art of fly fishing. I intended to mainly fly fish, but I brought along a spinning rod just in case.

We went opposite ways around the edge of the pond and almost immediately I hooked into a nice sized bream. A little bit late I hooked into about a 2 lb bass on a San Juan Worm and let me tell you, that is a big fish for a fly rod. I felt like I was Ishmael fighting the great white beast! Over all, I ended up with about 8 fish on the day. The entire time I thought I was getting it all on video, so I didn't bother with pictures. Unfortunately, my cheap knock off action camera only had footage of two of the catches. Lesson learned, because as they say in fishing if you don't have pictures, it didn't happen! lol



Creek that feeds the private pond.



Another view of the creek



Roadway bridge over the creek. My brother-in-law caught a massive shoal bass under there!


As an added bonus, we headed to a creek that actually feeds into the pond that I didn't even realized existed. I had no luck in the creek, but my BIL caught a huge shoal bass and a decent bream on his trusty spinning rod. He definitely won the day with approximately 15 fish. I don't mind losing as long as I'm losing in fishing! Thanks for checking this out and happy fishing. The two catches caught on video are posted below. I know I used this song in another video, but I just love how catchy it is!!! Tight lines!



Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Looks like a great time!
I love the landscape, it looks so serene.
I love the dog too, can't leave out the cute dog!! ;)

That dog stayed by our side the entire day and was just so awesome to watch him run around and then cool off in the pond! I think he had as much fun as we did!!!

Great post! Nice photos and I love the fly fishig video! I like the music on the video too. It fits perfectly. Looks like you had a great day. Must be nice to have a private pond, or at least know somebody who knows somebody who has one, lol!

It is definitely good to know a guy who knows a guy! It was a great day! Thanks so much for your continued support @myhuntingfishing

Ahh, this is what I wish to experience when I have no responsibility to take care of. Awesome place to relax one mind.

It is so very important to have a place to rest and "recharge"!

The pond side is so lovely to watch... Thanks for sharing. @papacrusher

Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

I love that song! Never heard it before but I love it! Looks like you had a beautiful day! Do you get to keep any of the fish or just catch for fun?

This particular pond is catch and release only. I usually keep salt water fish for eating and I release fresh water. I found the song on Free Music Archive I fell in love with it as soon as I heard it. I'm an old school punk anyway!

Wow! Its so beautiful & green there! Also such a cute pup!

That pup was so fun to hang out with while we fished!

The one that got away type fishing @papacrusher something we did quite a bit of in my youth.

Lovely quiet waters with a rod, so relaxing and exciting all wrapped up into one.

Rocky caught my eye with the half and half colouring, makes him look young and old at the same time!

Rocky was such a fun fishing buddy! The owner better be glad I didn't hide him in my truck when I left...lol I do quite a bit of "the one that got away" fishing lol