Having a moment of moral ambiguity

in #myintroduction8 years ago (edited)

Firstly I should note, that i have never really blogged before. Aside from MySpace posts in highschool, and the occasional Facebook rant, this is a new venture for me. I'm glad to see a platform that could reward me for talking politics, where as most people on facebook end up unfollowing me or try to argue about who will build the roads.

That being said, I dont fit the mold as a full blown anarchist, however I do promote it. Kind of pragmatically. In the world we live in I don't see sweeping anarchy happening. Especially while borders still exist. Dont get me wrong, I want borders gone but it has to be done incrementally, and change starts with the individual. That's why I joined the city council in my home town, (Insert change the empire from the inside meme)hoping to promote more voluntary ideas and maybe save my town some tax dollars.

Here I should let you know about my town. I live in a small town called Uncertain, TX. Population 94. It sits on the banks of Caddo Lake which is on the Texas/Louisiana border. Our primary industry is tourism around the lake. Cottages, bed & breakfasts, fishing, hunting, guide services, a few restaurants and even a small flea market (I will be talking about the flea market a little later).if it has something to do with the lake, thats probably how you make money, unless you work out of town. Most people live out here because, well they dont want to deal with the law. They can say because of the beauty of the lake, but most people out here are doing something illegal, or are hiding from the law. The police only come out here (30 miles away) if they are called.

Getting back to the city council. The council doesnt really act as a regulating force, but more a way to promote business. Almost like a chamber of commerce. Making it easy for locals to escape bullshit county regulations. Even though, we dont act as regulators, we still pay for events, town promotions, flood cleanup, and onelittle bald guy who rides around in a golf cart with no shirt on to patch the roads. Alas, here comes the taxes... However, as far as I know, everyone is happy for our one primary tax, because it is like investing in their own bread and butter. The hotel/motel tax pays for just about everything. We have alot of cottages out here and they are no cheap motel 6. I hate taxes but if you make money from people wanting to come see how beautiful it is out here, it makes sense to keep the place looking nice. Maybe that's me trying to rationalize something I really don't like.

So we were having our monthly meeting when the subject of a new cottage was being discussed who had not started paying the hotel /motle tax. After a while of trying to figure out if they were, and how to find out if the were sales tax was brought up. Suddenly the focus shifted from that to the flea market. The mayor asked me if we were paying sales tax. I told him I don't think anyone is, and one of the other aldermen chimed in that her father (who also has a booth at the flea market does have a sales tax ID). The mayor said that everyone at the flea market needs to be paying sales tax.

I dont know if anyone is familiar with flea markets, but there is usually no sales tax. None that I have been to anyway. Its one of the last free market places in my opinion. I told the mayor that the fact of the matter is, the few of us left there, are hemorrhaging money just to keep it afloat. Its really the only thing free to do out there if you dont have a boat. You can go eat at one of the catfish joints, then go to the flea market and walk around, look at all the stuff and old cars, and not have to spend a dime. I told him I will be damned if i only make enough to clear booth rent to then pay sales tax too.

The discussion then chaged to the ethics and the balance in the community. Because if he were to come down on everyone who isn't paying taxes, a lot of people would be out of work and that would effect the bigger businesses who depend on the under the table people to keep their stores, restaurants and cabins maintained. From lawn care, to plumbing, most of these guys do their work off the books.

Heres where my moral ambiguity starts.

  1. Taxation is theft but cottage owners are happy with the hotel/motel tax
  2. Am i being self serving by being against taxing the little guys in the community seeing as how i make my money on odd jobs.

I feel like that kind of mutual understanding works out here and that we shouldn't shake it.
Yall let me know in the comments, not only your opinion on the issue, but where to improve in my writing. Also if this is even worth the read. I could always chronical non political aspects of my town. Whateverzclever

Sort:  

Welcome! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome to Steemit! You will rock here! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Congratulations @zachofuncertain! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Interesting
I will follow you to see your future posts! I give you a vote!

Congratulations @zachofuncertain! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @zachofuncertain! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!