You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chile (Part 1) Victor Jara in #mymusic (English)

in #mymusic6 years ago

Thank you for sharing this post and letting us to have a glance into your country history. I can remember the time in 60-70's from my husband's description when many Chilean students were studying in East Berlin, he is himself German. But also I remember the time when Chile was overruled by military dictatorship for about 16 years.

But of course what I remember too is the beautiful music and guitar accompanied songs, although I could not understand the texts but it was no need for that. You could hear the voice and emotions were transmitted through them. The love to country, to will to be free and finally to have peace. Thank you for sharing these beautiful songs :)

Sort:  

It was really awful!!!

I had there so many Chilean friends and I listened all the horror stories that lived their relatives. I cried with them the murder of Salvador Allende, Victor Jara and many relatives of them.

Then those songs became songs of rejection of violence and death, of denunciation, but above all of hope and faith. That's why they are so important to me.

Thanks for coming by and commenting! ;-)