The Hill of Tara - MyPictureDay Submission

in #mypictureday6 years ago (edited)

I took these photos while visiting the ancient Hill of Tara in Ireland. It was an unbelievably clear day and the sunset was spectacular. The Hill of Tara was once the ancient seat of the high Kings of Ireland according to legend. It is believed that 142 kings reigned here in prehistoric times. This was a place of ritual and mythology. You can still get that feeling of mystic when you walk around this picturesque location. It's amazing to think that the high kings of Ireland took in these same sights over 1000 years ago, although I don't think they had a camera to capture and share it like me, except in their minds eye.

These photos were taken with a Samsung camera phone, as my battery died on my camera... I know!! Gutted... But they came out quite well :)

The first picture is my favourite capturing the moon and sun, which have been here as long as the earth, the cross symbolising those who have departed this world, and the jet symbolising modern man on the planet. I think it captures the past, present and future in some respect.

Hill of Tara.jpg

This second picture while similar to the first, I like due to the juxtaposition of the jet and sun against the cross, in a kind of ancient versus modern context.

Hill of Tara 2.jpg

Isn't light incredible!! I intend to write about light when I get brave enough to write more creative posts, as I am constantly amazed by it, and even my username @ablaze was chosen because of my affinity for light - I couldn't believe it was available on Friday night when I joined Steemit.

Let there be light.jpg

Our beautiful ball of fire, giving life to our planet year after year...

Sunset2.jpg

Well there you have it! My first Steemit post, done and dusted, I feel great about it and I am so excited about the journey ahead and I hope that I can make a bright and uplifting contribution to the community.

Peace out.

Sort:  

Good post thank you :) I followed you follow me