My Picture Day: Chihuahua or Rat Terrier? You Decide

in #mypictureday6 years ago

enter image description here

Yesterday was National Love Your Pet Day. Yes I'm a day behind and dollar short. That's the story of my life for sure! lol Since today's national day is Nation Sticky Bun day, I'm just going to go ahead and talk about yesterday instead. I'm on a clean eating diet and talking about a sticky bun just means I'd have to drive down to the donut shop and get one.

This is my rescue Poncho. I call him "Poncho Villa" or "Super Poncho" because we like to go on adventures together and explore the city with his cape on. Yesterday we explored a little piece of the Red River in Shreveport. In the comments of a post I did yesterday, I was reminded that I had forgot to take pictures of my super chihuahua. I took some last night when we got home but it's a little harder to take pictures of my fur babies because they like to move.

Who is Super Poncho?

DSC_0034.JPG

Super Poncho was a rescue from the Little Rock Animal Shelter in Little Rock Arkansas. I had originally rescued a kitten the week before and I realized quickly that the kitten didn't want to have anything to do with me, he instantly took a liking to my husband. I wanted a pet who loved me! I read that chihuahua's are very loyal to one person.

DSC_0033.JPG

I remembered that when I was at the shelter I saw this cute little chihuahua in a cage all by himself at the end of the hallway. He was actually in the cat section because the dog kennel's were just too large for this little baby.

DSC_0032.JPG

I went up there to adopt him but they said I had to wait for his medical tests to come back, I think they had to run tests and give him shots and make sure he was old enough to be fixed, they gave me his adoption number on a piece of paper and I kept it all weekend. On Monday they were closed when I called, so I had to wait until Tuesday. Tuesday I called and they still hadn't given him his shots or fixed him but that if I came up there and paid for him they would get him next in line.

DSC_0031.JPG

I went up there on my lunch break and played with this little baby. I knew instantly that he was mine. He was so playful and even jumped in my lap. He loved everyone around him and still does to this day. That's just his personality. He loves people. Although, I like to think that he loves me the most.

DSC_0030.JPG

After adopting this sweet little guy over a year ago we have had so much fun together. I never knew that I would actually enjoy a dog so much. I've had other dogs but never had a chihuahua. I have to say they might be one of my favorite breeds. If you can find one that has the sweetest personality like my little chihuahua.

Deer Head vs. Apple Head

There are actually two types of chihuahua's with the Deer Head being the most common type of chihuahua but often mistaken for a rat terrier. The apple head is the most recognized because of the shape of its head.

enter image description here
Source

However, you can see from the image that there are two types. I did not know before rescuing my super poncho that there was a difference. They have almost the exact same personality. My mom has a apple head chihuahua and my sister has what was supposed to be a teacup apple head but after her's grew up it actually became taller than my deer head chihuahua. Her apple head is the same color as the one in the photo above. My mother's apple head is all white in color. I've had a lot of people comment that they didn't know that a chihuahua could come in black and white like my super poncho but they can.

According to the interwebs and the American Kennel Club there are actually only two types of Chihuahua's that they recognize and it's not what you think. To be an AKC Chihuahua it can only be a long hair or short hair "apple head" chihuahua. Yep, the deer head can't be registered as AKC.

The reason they call it a deer head is because its head is shaped like that of a baby deer and it has longer legs like a deer. I love how my deer head chihuahua prances around like a deer as well, he is so cute.

A deer head chihuahua also has less medical conditions than the apple head. The apple head tends to have more breathing problems because of its short snout and trachea.

Is he a Toy Rat Terrier or Deer Head Chihuahua

enter image description here

Every since I've adopted Poncho, I've thought that he is a deer head chihuahua. Reason being is because when I adopted him, that's what they told me he was and he had a mexican name "Poncho". Chihuahua's name came from the Mexican city "Chihuahua". However, I have people constantly saying he might also be a Rat Terrier. If he is its really hard to tell the difference. The only way to really tell is by their personality.

Traits of rat terrier:

  • Temperament. Rat terriers enjoy human companionship
  • Often will follow their owners around the house like a shadow, and given the opportunity, rat terriers will curl up with their owners.
  • Rat terriers make good watchdogs.
  • Needs lots of exercise
  • Terriers are often too quick to sound the alarm at every new sight and sound.
  • Digs tunnels to get out of the backyard and clever at finding other ways out.

Traits of Chihuahua:

  • Entire lines of Chihuahuas are social or antisocial
  • Chihuahuas are naturally suspicious toward strangers
  • Chihuahuas are the hardest of breeds to potty train
  • Chihuahuas love to burrow under covers, watch out before you sit down you might sit on your dog.
  • Is very loyal
  • Travels well
  • Doesn't need much exercise
  • Hates the cold and the rain.

According to what I've read that Chihuahua's are more territorial, can't adapt to change as easily, are not good with kids and strangers. However, the opposite is true for a rat terrier and my dog poncho. He barks like crazy to warn me of people entering into our territory 'our yard' but then when they come to the door and I let him greet the people he acts like he is their best friend! He loves people and he loves kids! But, he also has chihuahua traits

My Super Poncho Traits:

  • burrowing under the covers.
  • Loves all types of people and kids
  • Still isn't potty trained especially when it rains. He was pad trained and then he untrained himself in about a month, even though he was trained for a year!
  • Hates to have his nails trimmed.
  • Has to be in your lap 24x7
  • Get his feelings hurt very easily
  • shivers and shakes like a chihuahua when he is cold
  • Is very loyal
  • Travels well
  • Doesn't need much exercise
  • Hates the cold and the rain
  • Follows me around like a shadow
  • Barks at every sight and sound. Didn't do this until we moved into a house where he could see everything and hear everything. In fact, people didn't even know he was around most of the time.
  • Clever at getting out of the backyard to come to the front door and sit.
  • Figures out how to get under the screen door to get back into the house. (the bottom of the door is gone just enough for him to squeeze back inside)
  • Doesn't dig tunnels but he will fluff blankets for 10 minutes straight.

So what do you think comment below if you think he is a deer head chihuahua, rat terrier or a mix of both.

Stay tuned for tomorrow's My Picture Day, which will be all about my purrdy siamese cat, Ollie.

#mypictureday #photography #dogs #blog #photofeed

Sort:  

Always love the fur babies and yes he looks more like a rat terrier but you go with what ever you feel he is. Or no labels at all. When people ask say he is my Super rescue and leave it at that. lol WEll great post.

That is such a cute doggy!!! Rescuing him was one of the best decision you've ever taken in your life!Period!
I'm a dog person so don't be surprised by the passion lol.

That was not loyal That's why I don't do cats. I love them; love seeing and patting them but I'll never own one again.

I also had no idea there are different types of chihuahuas. I thought chihuahua was a type on its own. All the differences between the different traits in comparison to your super Poncho... YOU REALLY LOVE YOUR DOG.

I just started a daily photography contest. Everyone who participates gets an upvote and I'll also be giving out Steem and SBD prizes. Feel free to check it out, will be running everyday...

https://steemit.com/contest/@rulesforrebels/everyone-gets-upvoted-daily-photo-contest-new-daily-photo-contest

Congratulations @herosjourney! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Furball wants to be friends with Poncho, regardless of his breed. Any dog that wears a cape is amazing in his book.

I think you described my dog perfectly! I'm going to go with Ratcha - a Rat Terrier Chihuahua mix. I had never heard of it until doing internet research. If your dog is too big for a travel bag, it's a good bet he's a terrier mix. Thanks for sharing those adorable pics!

Congratulations @herosjourney! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @herosjourney! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!