MyPictureDay - Another Great Blue Heron

in #mypictureday6 years ago (edited)

This week I was able to get #mypictureday done early. On sunday I was out photography birds below the Big Dam Bridge. (I know, it is such a creative name, but that is what it is called.) I was mostly trying to get images of ring-billed gulls as they were diving towards the water. I was having a hard time getting close enough so started capturing them as they were flying. To my surprise as I was photographing one of the gulls a Great Blue Heron flew by. It flew so close my autofocus on the kit lens I was using had a hard time keeping up.

Birding_at_Dam-599.jpg

Birding_at_Dam-600.jpg

Because of where I was standing when it flew by I was able to get a picture from above while it was gliding toward it's landing.

Birding_at_Dam-611-Edit.jpg

I was standing at the end this walkway thingy when it flew by.

IMG_20180211_135728-01.jpeg

A little over a week ago I captured a photo of a heron and have since been on the look out for them. So when this heron perched on a rail about 60 feet away I was excited. It was kind of funny, I would take a few shots then take a step closer. I repeated that until I was probably 20 feet away from it, at that point it got uncomfortable with me and moved on.

Birding_at_Dam-642.jpg

Birding_at_Dam-666.jpg

Birding_at_Dam-667.jpg

Birding_at_Dam-697.jpg

I searched around for it for a while, thinking that it might still be in the area. Hoping that it would fly by again but deep down knowing it wouldn't.

While I was driving away I found it again. Got this while I was stopped in the middle of the road. Luckly there wasn't much traffic. When I did park to try to get closer it flew away again.

Birding_at_Dam-716.jpg

I have been trying to be diligent with how I organize my photos and trying to be more aggressive with deleting photos I do not need. After going through the 700 images I took that day I was deleting those that weren't up snuff and accidentally deleted my raw images for the ones that I wanted to keep. I was lucky that I still had the jpg's of them.

The photos of the Great Blue Heron were shot with my Canon 7D and a 55-250mm lens. The photo of the walkway was shot with a OnePlus 5T.

Sort:  

I really like the third photo. The subject is perfectly in focus, the colors are brilliant and the background is interesting.

Thank you. That's my favorite too.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.55 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.11
Server time: 21:48:47
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 65.00/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 17
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I used to live in Arkansas and visited the Big Dam Bridge on occasion. I've only been away for a couple of months but I really miss that place. The scenery is amazing.

I moved to Arkansas back in 2004 from Houston and have really enjoyed it here. So much to do outdoors here.

These are great shots - I'm in the UK - the Herons here aren't so colourful but one of my favourite subjects - I'll do my own Heron post soon

cool, I will keep a lookout for it.