About me (#MyPinnedPost)

in #mypinnedpost5 years ago (edited)
image.png
Right now, most of my attention goes to SteemPeak and my upcoming move to Dublin for a new job. 


My road on Steem

November 27, 2017 was the day that I created my Steem account. Back then I could not have predicted how involved I would be with Steem today...

In 2017, I had just moved back from Dublin to Amsterdam after a 1-year adventure abroad. I looked into ways to start a digital nomad career and found Steemit. Decided to give it a shot, knowing it would be better to post all my travel experiences here, instead of any other platform.

I travel a lot, or at least...it looks like that to an outsider. I am a solo traveller and can decide to spontaneously leave a few days later if I find a nice deal. This has been going on since my first solo trip in 2005, when I was pleasantly surprised that going solo is much better than with friends!! (Sorry friends...). I would explore with my camera and take all the time I wanted. Sleep in, enjoy the comfort of the hotel and experience the city (often city trips) after lunch. The travel photos and stories started piling up... I started posting travel blogs as if my life depended on it. At this time I learned a lot about the platform and the things that didn't really work for me. But every time I was about to give up, it was as if @curie felt it and I got another boost that kept me going.

Professional travel-photographers have always intrigued me. My pictures were mostly just the basic travel snapshots, but I wanted more and people in my inner circle stimulated that. I was looking into ways to do more (and be different) with photography. I was obsessed with my 360 camera and I posted tiny planets everywhere! At the same time, I ran into the @photogames group and I got super jealous that I couldn't do the things they did. My first serious camera was bought soon after I decided I was going to compete with them anyway. I had to start somewhere.

My photos improved, but I am still far from happy with most of my photos. But it gave me a great connection with @asgarth, @jarvie and @dmytrokorol who I later joined in creating the best Steem interface there is: https://steempeak.com. And suddenly I spend a lot of time discussing how things could be better, testing improvements, hanging around the discord, etc.

Fun facts about me:


Australia


The "Walkabout Straya"-series

0 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | ..... (ongoing)


Europe


Ireland, the "Back Arse of Nowhere"-series

Aran Islands | Cliffs of Moher | Gap of Dunloe | Donegal | Dingle Peninsula | Howth | Connemara | Hill of Tara | Loughcrew | Carrick a rede rope bridge | Ring of Kerry | Dublin | Blarney Castle | Trim Castle | .....

France, the "My lavender week"-series

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

...

Spain: San Pedro del Pinatar | Bilbao | Madrid | El Puerto de Santa Maria | Malaga | Menorca

Portugal: Algarve | Lisbon

Italy: Alghero | Genoa

Germany: Dresden | Cologne | Drachenfels

Greece: Chania | Rethymno | Nafplio | Modern Olympics | Classical Olympics

Various: Helsinki (Finland) | Malta


North America


Amtrak Train Cross Country | Avenue of the Giants and Highway 1 | Marin County | Yosemite


Netherlands


Amsterdam Then & Now

De Dageraad | Cooperation court | Flowers at Cornelis Troostplein | Old Convent at Cornelis Troostplein | Barbiers bridge | Concert building | Museum Square

...

Terschelling: Photos | Drone

Various: Radio Kootwijk | The Hidden Village | Horsterwold

To come:

More Australia, Patagonia, Ireland and a whole lot more!

Do you want a pinned post too?

Go to https://steempeak.com/, find the blog that you want to pin and pin it via the menu options.
Also, make sure your readers go to SteemPeak too, so they can see the pinned post at the top:)

image.png

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @r00sj3!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.959 which ranks you at #1148 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1149).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 178 contributions, your post is ranked at #68.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You rock. For the best photos, you gotta go DSLR or mirrorless :)
What do you have?

Mirrorless is the future baby!! And much more convenient when travelling ;)

Yup yup. So expensive though. I always buy my bodies used. And that sounded weird!

I'd like to have my body used too... fixed that ;)

Oh, now it's so much sexier!

Dirty minds are a joy forever! :)

Congratulations @r00sj3! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2500 comments. Your next target is to reach 3000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!