Mythological Mysteries

in #mythology6 years ago (edited)

As I have clarified before in some of my previous posts, I read a lot. And not just Sci-fi or Fiction, but I like to read about history. Not America’s history or anything in the past millennia, I like to read about medieval time and times even before that. The tools that they used, their way of life, how they gathered food, and most especially, their religion. All that is much more fascinating to me than mechanics and other modern-day fascinations. I like to read about Egyptian times and stuff in that general time era (B.C.)
As I mentioned above, I have read quite a bit on Egyptian times, and that is one of the reasons I am choosing to speak about the Egyptians first. Another reason that I chose Ancient Egypt is because they are one of the oldest nations in recorded history (them being the first to discover ‘paper’) and they have lots and lots to talk about. Why were they made? This common question really doesn’t have an actual answer, because the Egyptians don’t answer it themselves. (by the time they were even writing on STONES they had probably already forgotten the origin of all these legends) I mean sure, most of it is all still here because of oral transmission, but that can cause a lot of distortions as well. This is also why there almost 50% of all the Egyptian gods are the ‘unopposed god of this’ and the ‘unquestioned god of that’. Back to theorizing why they were made, there are three two possibilities. One is that they were completely made up to explain inexplicable events and/or natural disasters

and two is that there were supernatural beings walking among us at the time. Since the latter is so much more interesting, I’ll start with that theory. First off, why did the Egyptians give each god a physical form? Why not, like the Native Americans, give each god a being or a thing to be based off? Instead of ‘The Great Sun’ the Egyptians said ‘Ra, the Sun God’… maybe there were supernatural beings that walked among us, or maybe a god or multiple gods walked among us during a time we couldn’t record. Who knows? I guess we’ll have to wait for somebody to invent a time machine. (somebody else please do it…I don’t have the mental capacity to)

Okay, so I have theorized about that, now I am going to theorize about this: let’s go back to the theory that all mythological stories were created to explain the aspects of our life; such as natural disasters, rain, day and night, etc… in all honesty, this theory makes a LOT of sense. I mean, look! The Egyptians have an explanation for every, little, tiny thing!! Why is there day and night? Because Ra, the sun god, must go into the Duat (alternate dimension on a ‘higher plane of existence’) to battle Apap or Apophis. This is known as night, and daytime is the sigh that Ra has risen victorious. They even have an exception! A solar eclipse is when Ra is momentarily swallowed by Apap!
I find that all fascinating. And why do scarab beetles eat dead flesh? Because they represent cleansing and rebirth. Every little detail is explained!!! So, until we have a solid answer to all our questions, I think that this is the best theory that we have got. P.S. earlier I mentioned that there was a third possibility. That was that there was a sole creator that simply took on multiple forms, but since that really didn’t fit my theme, I decided to evoke it from the main theory. Please upvote , and comment if you have any question. Ciao!

Sort:  

Was Apop a snake? How does he swallow Ra so often?
So many questions! 😋

yes, he was depicted as a snake. he swallowed Ra so often because of man-kind's sin disrupting Ma'at, or the balance between good and evil.

Great post! keep up the good reading.
|/,,

thanks so much for the support!!

Reading and knowledge helps to build a healthy home!