#MYTOP5ARTISTS CHALLENGE

in #mytop5artists6 years ago

Thanks, @sarahart for this contest, in this I’ll expose my top 5 favorite artists with their respective works.


Francisco De Goya

Bravísimo!

Serie: Los Caprichos; Etching, burnished aquatint and drypoint, 21.5 x 30.6, 1797-1799. Colección Plácido Arango; Museo del Prado, 1991.

Inside this series, the donkeys tend to be a contemptuous allegory in front of the society he used to live, including the politics, a critic and a satirical mockery. This is my favorite and represents to me the clumsy and mocking side of the human (the monkey) as the ignorance and useless ears (the donkey), besides it is the number one of the painters that I studied deeply, I completely love his works.

Gian Lorenzo Bernini

Medusa

Sculpture in marble, 1630 - 1648. Museos Capitolinos, Roma.

From his works that make a reference to the Greek mythology, Medusa’s bust doesn’t represent an evil face, but it could be one of fear, one that is threatened or even afflicted. This is representation it’s one of my favorite of the mythology as one of Bernini’s owns.

Roberto Ferri

DIES IRAE

Oil over cloth, 70 x 50, 2011.

This is my favorite one of Ferri, another painter that I adore for his work so exquisite; it’s an allegory to the sanctity or the divinity as could be the blasphemy in it.

Mattias Adolfsson

Clutter first

Self-portrait, watery. 2017

Mattias it’s an unconventional illustrator, his work on papers it’s just with watery and Chinese ink, it’s full of details, self-portrait, animals, robots… This is my favorite; it’s his self-portrait, inside his illustrations, wherever this character with only one curly hair and glasses appears… that’s him. It’s like a little fantasy full of fun.

Adolfo Arenas

GioCoNdo

Graphite over paper. 2014.

And for last, Arenas it’s another illustrator, this one a little unknown from Spain with an amazing work, I love all his elongated figures, some with airs of decline showing something like a mirror of the reality. All of his works are made in only graphite, even the smallest of the details. This is my favorite, it’s a man admiring the Mona Lisa, for me, it is like an illusion of what this character wants to be, a message that doesn’t need an explication.

Well, this is it, I hope you enjoyed #MYTOP5ARTISTS CHALLENGE

I leave you in link the works of the last painter and the last two illustrators.: Roberto Ferri, Mattias Adolfsson, Adolfo Arenas.

If you want to participate, click here. Chances until friday 9 good luck!

Sort:  

Great job! I love how you included artists with different styles and techniques. And thank you for leaving the links to the works of some of them. I love the work from Adolfo Arenas, I didn't knew him, it's amazing.

<3 thanks to u, it's great you liked it.