You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Wartime Diary.. The Mysterious Russian Soul

Following the news on a daily basis about Ukraine (also trying to help in various ways at the same time) EVERY single day of them I get at least once the following feeling:

This country has (among others) humane quality that is too impressive to be vanished. And that's why it won't. The liberating news around Kiev is music to my ears, we all have to brace for the battles in the East/South though as that's where the epilogue of this nightmare will be written. Can't send enough best wishes on that.

I see colourful pictures of Kiev and I feel ashamed that I've toured so many places on my bike but haven't been there yet. An older friend of mine told me "I've been there in 1991 but can't recall so many colours". I said "Of course you don't. Soviet didn't have much to offer other than shades of grey".

Your last line is so touching. If history was fair then you'd be winners from day one and Putin would be in a cage at public exposure for the world to see how Hitlers should be punished. But history is not because people aren't in the first place. However, regardless the outcome, you have already won impressive battles, you have totally won the communication game and you have well deserved won a great place in history and the hearts of people with more than 2-3 brain cells alive and a bit of soul. Ukraine will be an example for many generations to come. And it will be a superb one. Let's wish this insanity will end in the best way for YOU people of Ukraine.

You have my respect - I wish you peace and prosperity.