You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NaNoWriMo Day 1

in #nanowrimo5 years ago

https://nanowrimo.org

I know that it is hard for you to load websites and such. Here is the short answer:
NaNoWriMo was started as a personal challenge between 7 friends who all were writers and didn't seem to be able to finish a project. So, they challenged each other to write a novel in one month and picked 50,000 words as a goal - based on that a book was published as a novel with that word count (a Steinbeck book).
4 or 5 of them actually finished and decided to do it again. It since has grown into a worldwide writing effort. You can sign up at their website and they do have a word counter you add to. all you get is a certificate in the end and to get it, you have to upload your whole manuscript.
There is lots of support there and many groups meet locally for write-ins and such. I am sure their are some in your area.

As far as we are concerned as freewriters - I don't have the energy to make it a big deal this year. Last year, I published a freewrite house post, we did extra rewards and all kinds of things. Can't do it this year.
But if you set that goal for yourself - 50,000 words - and use the nanowrimo hashtag, I am planning on doing random surprise gifts from both my account and the Freewrite House account. It will be an honor system.

Let me know if you are doing it - then, I'll add your name.
And get yourself google docs so you can keep your writing online if you want to find it easier next time. You can do an ongoing document or a folder with your daily ones...

Sort:  

I just signed in to the site but more I could not figure out. I remembered the name from last year but think we had the #MarchMadness which I joined. So it is a bit like that only not necessary to write a novel? If I understand it well you just do it in your own now.

So I have 27 days left which means 2000 words a day. Count me in. Let's see if I have words left to share and my finger can make it. I doubt I can write it online on that site. I will find something else to count words. I can use some distraction from my pain. Thanks for taking the time to answer. I try to stop by soon. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, we did the march madness inspired by the November madness that was inspired by naNoWriMo.

And yes, you don't write on their site. You just can enter your daily word count and if you want the certificate from them, You upload your file. You can write it any way you want to - even pen and paper. I don't know how you verify that but that is not our thing anyway.
Great that you are giving it a try!! I'll add your name :)
And I am not attempting a novel this year. I am just doing stream of consciousness writing to see where it takes me LOL

@mariannewest thanks for taking the time to explain it all. I am in. It is good for me. 😁