You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life, Health, Publishing & NaNoWriMo

in #nanowrimo5 years ago

Good luck ( and don't forget to have fun too! ) with NaNoWriMo. I am trying it out for the very first time. Have done loads of other creative things in the past ( mainly filmmaking ) but never managed to get even close to finishing a novel. This time, inspiration struck me on Halloween. Yes, I started a day early ( don't tell anyone ). As a matter of fact, I was only reminded of NaNoWrimo after this first day of writing :>)

I couldn't find many people partaking in this ( and am living by myself in a Portuguese mountain town - talking about hermits ), but you seem to be one of them ( searched for #nanowrimo on Steemit ). Who knows, perhaps we can motivate each other just that little bit to make it over the finish line... ;>)

All the best,

Vincent

Sort:  

I don't get on steemit enough anymore, but I spent most of November writing up a storm. I actually wrote my first full-length novel last year for NaNo, so it was a big boost to try again this year! I hope you had fun.

Found out you made it to 200k!
That is crazy ( extremely impressive ). I was in a chat group with Portuguese nanowrimo contenders and one of them reached 75k, the rest barely made the goal ( like me ) or didn't come close. You also seem to write extremely fast, which makes me wonder if you're a planner?

I guess it also makes a difference if you write in your first language ( I'm Dutch but almost bilingual ).

Anyhow, thanks for getting back to me and hurrah for all the progress you made! :>)

I'm definitely writing in my native language, which helps. I can't imagine trying to translate, too! I write fast, but I'm not a planner at all. Every time I try to plan, it makes me stall and freeze up.