Introduction to Nike'

in #natural7 years ago

Hi,
I am new to steemit and here is my introduction. I lost my big corporate job over a year ago and decided I would start blogging to keep me occupied while I look for work. The blogging has been fun and fulfilling personally. It's been a place to research topics I'm interested in and a place to share my expertise.

My tag line is Natural Remedies for a Healthy Lifestyle. I believe that being healthy happens one day at a time and includes nutrition, fitness and mind/body/spirit. I hope you will visit my website to watch my videos and find out ways to be healthier.
http://www.simplevictories.net

I still haven't found a job in my field and my husband and I have moved out of our house in St Louis and we live in a warehouse in Kansas City. He got the job of being the caretaker here. The warehouse is in the West Bottoms, also know as the stockyards. It's a very creative place to be at this time in my life. The area is full of artists and people who upcycle, repurpose and sell antiques and such. bike small.jpg
Over the past 20 years of raising children and working really hard I developed some health issues. The best thing about not finding work is that I've been able to take really good care of myself and I'm off all of my asthma medication - no steroids anymore. My osteo arthritis still flairs up but I've found some great moves that relieve the pain as long as I'm consistent with my work outs.

I'm into being healthy, but I don't consider myself extreme. I'm not a vegan or eating only low carb or just raw food. I eat real food and I cook. My kids were raised on home cooked meals and I believe that cooking is one of the healthiest things you can do for yourself. I teach a class called Nutrition Transition to help people make the changes in their pantry and their eating to lose weight and get healthy. Unfortunately this isn't taught and many people have no idea where to start.

I have always grown my own food and now is no exception. Even though we live in a warehouse and have 300,000 square feet of space, we have no yard or outdoor space. We have access to a dilapidated greenhouse with some garden beds fashioned in the yard outside of it. We are persistent gardeners and for me digging in the dirt brings cohesion to my world, the cycle of life. Plus we get to eat really fresh food. garden green.jpg
We are also beekeepers, which I started doing only because my husband decided to keep bees. They are fascinating creatures and I am now dedicated to growing our bee colonies and helping them do their important work. We have 6 hives now and it's the first year that our bees are growing and expanding. There is a lot to know about beekeeping and I'll be writing about that here soon. And of course, we get to eat as much honey as we want.honey comb.jpg

I'm still looking for that job that will help me afford my healthy lifestyle and in the meantime I'm enjoying life and learning a lot about living. I look forward to being a part of this community and learning from all of you.

Nike' VanArsdale

Sort:  

Congratulations @simplevictories! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @simplevictories! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!