Living in a 'Yome' shelter for the summer

So, I thought I'd show up a couple scenes of the canvas house I'm living in this summer.

RNI-Films-IMG-4753D17B-AFE4-4916-80D9-A992C252C547.JPG

I own a bell tent, but since we are in Appalachia this summer, we decided to keep it packed up so it does not get moldy. Tents on the ground like that left up all season get so filled with mold and mildew, it helps to be on a platform.

IMG-9071.JPG

My partner and I landed here at the land where I used to farm to explore Appalachia for the season. I have old friends here and old trails I love, so we're hanging out for a little while. I also am renovating and airstream to live in and be on solar, that will be a post for another time.

IMG-9063 (1).JPG

The 'Yome's are simple. They are part yurt and part dome. The owner of the land, Peter of Red Sky Shelters, is the one who builds them, actually. We're living in an older one that we needed to paint the outside with a waterproof UV paint in order to keep the water out, as it has started to get worn out. These kind of structures don't last a very long time in the humid jungle of Appalachia.

IMG-9064.JPG

Ours is kind of dark from the UV paint which we will like come the heat of summer. It makes it so these pictures are a little dark, but most of the time, it's hard to get goo lighting in here! There are trees that have grown up around it.

IMG-9065.JPG

We unloaded out nomadic camp from the truck camper and spread out a little bit which has been a great relief. We have a small simple camp stove kitchen set up in here and also there is a rustic outdoor kitchen down the hill that the community uses. This land has several people living in earthen or canvas structures. One family has been here many years and upgraded to an insulated yurt.

IMG-9076.JPG

I like the triangular windows but when it rains really hard, I have to climb up a dangerous ladder to zip them up so it does not rain inside.

This is my desk, where I sit to write this right now. No electricity in here and no internet except for a phone hot spot I finally got. Podcasting rustically as usual (I run a podcast if you didn't know!)

I swear it's been a loud day around here on the land. The neighbors are doing construction. The cement truck came around to deliver. Everyone is chainsawing, mowing or weedwacking. It felt like it has not ended today. In a canvas space, the downside is no way to block noise.

I'm going back out now to the garden to plant peppers finally, and prep beds for directly sowing climbing beans. Onward!

received_680453672444339.png

@goldenberries |||
Podcast at http://www.ofsedgeandsalt.com
(The Ground Shots Podcast)

Sort:  

I love circular spaces, even though I have been in buses and trucks the last 11 years of my life. Once I do find a new piece of land to move to, I think I will build a circular space. You have made a great job making his look homely xx

Thanks for showing us you crib! ;<) It looks pretty awesome for a 'tent'-like construction. I love to see a desk in there.

Big hug from Portugal

I lived in a yurt in that part of Appalachia before and yup the mold is horrendous. Even with the yurt up on a deck I still had problems with the mold. I used to get really excited over fabric structures but anymore I do my best to avoid them when in the mountains. Currently I have been living in a big canvas tent (way south of the mountains) and have been super surprised that I have not had any mold issues.

Cheers and Hive on!

Interesting tour of your abode. I liked the triangle windows but would not like the ladder!

yeah the ladder is freaky. a deck around it makes the most sense. we don't have one right now but it would be a great addition to the structure.

What a beautiful atmosphere you've created! It looks so cozy. I love the work nook with the beautiful desk and triangle windows. How does the yurt hold up during bad weather conditions? I can imagine living here would take quite a bit of maintenance but it also looks so comfy and homely.

its fine in bad weather as there is some wooden structure to it, the roof is like a yurt but the walls are simpler, like a dome. It is an old one, so we had to paint it with UV paint to help waterproof it more. It also helps block sun. the newer ones are designed better. Southern Appalachia is very humid and rainy, hot in the summer so mold can be an issue but if you keep things swept, airflow and light a fire every now and then inside it helps.

Ah, it's a beautiful home. I should look into making some fabric structures here but it does seem like they won't do very well during the heavier monsoons here. Maybe with the right frame and fabric though.

Congratulations @ofsedgeandsalt! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies.
Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!