Arrowroot Flour Pizza Crust - GF and Vegan

in #naturalmedicine4 years ago

I grew up with Coccia House, a hometown pizza shop started by a widow and her daughter in 1958, that features homemade Italian pizza, Abruzzi style.

I. Miss. Pizza.

I think the holy grail of gluten-free living is a good, healthy pizza crust. Now my pizza crust recipe is no Coccia House, Abruzzi style, but it is tasty, healthy, and easy to pull together when the littles are nipping at my heels for a meal.

This crust can be made thick and chewy, or thin and crispy. It stands up well to all kinds of toppings, and is versatile enough to even be served alone as crackers.

This recipe was created after I had a lot of leftover batter from another recipe. It had eggs, arrowroot flour, melted coconut oil and seasonings in it, so I thought I would just put in on a pan in the oven and see what happened. The results were yummy!

20200108_115602.jpg

BWdivider.png

Arrowroot Flour Pizza Crust

4 Eggs (flax eggs can be used, plus more liquid, to make this vegan)
2 Cups Arrowroot Flour
1/4 Cup Melted Coconut Oil or any other liquid fat
1/2 Cup Liquid to thin the batter if needed (water, bone or veggie broth, milk)
Seasoning of your choice - I use basil, fresh crushed garlic, oregano, salt, pepper and rosemary

This recipe is forgiving, and can stand up to some trial and error. Enjoy the experiment!

BWdivider.png

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease a cookie sheet or baking pan with lots of coconut oil or other fat. Keep the pan in the oven to warm while it preheats.

20200108_110323.jpg

Beat eggs well, and add in arrowroot flour a little at a time until well combined. Stir in coconut oil. The mixture should be sort of goopy, not quite liquidy, but not solid either. Add enough liquid so that the batter will easily pour out of the bowl. Mix in the seasoning.

20200108_110248.jpg

Carefully pour the batter onto the preheated and well-oiled cookie sheet or baking pan, and spread it out so that it forms a solid crust. This is really the trick to making this recipe work - pouring the batter on a hot, well-oiled pan. Pouring it thicker will make it more chewy, thinner more crispy. Place back in the oven to bake for about 15 minutes for a chewy crust. Cook longer for a crispier crust or for making crackers.

20200108_110727.jpg

When cooked, take the crust out, brush with oil, and top with sauce, cheese or any toppings that you like. Put back into the oven to warm and melt the cheese, then take out and cut with a pizza cutter to serve.

BWdivider.png

I am grateful to find a place with rich soil to grow a community. May we take root, and flourish together.

@Bia.Birch 🌱

All artwork, photographs, and content are original and created by @bia.birch unless otherwise credited.

BWdivider.png

newhearttranssmall.fw.png

Sort:  

Looks awesome - great treat for "Pizza Friday" - so yummy

Yay Pizza Friday! Thank you 🌱

Oh wow this looks delicious. You made my mouth water, and my tummy rumble! Time to make dinner. I gotta print this out, thanks for sharing.😊🙏💚

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool! Let me know how it works for you if you give it a try! 🌱

The ingredients sound like it would be pretty palatable. I have made a few different pizza bases before but had never heard of arrow root. Not even sure of we get that here in SA.

!tip

Thank you for the tip 🌱

Yes, arrowroot is awesome! I use it ALL the time in gluten free cooking. Really, it is my favorite, cannot-cook-without ingredient. It took me some time to figure out how to use it, but once you get it the possibilities are endless.

🎁 Hi @bia.birch! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Poetry - The Priest Of The Invisible Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

la pizza y champiñones son dos delicias unidas para hacerme feliz ❣🍄🍕

Sí, los champiñones son mi pizza favorita, además del queso, por supuesto 🌱

@trucklife-family here, wow I have never heard of arrowroot for a pizza base, I will have to give this a try and great that you included a vegan version too.

curation.png
If you like what we do, consider delegation or following our curation trail on Steemauto. All are welcome to join us on Discord.
weelotus.png
Join in our challenge this week to win Steem & Lotus Tokens! Read More Here.

Thank you @trucklife-family. I LOVE arrowroot flour. I keep finding new ways to make it work for me as I life the gluten free life. Let me know how it works for you 🌱

Thank-you for sharing this recipe! We just started making bread with arrowroot flour and now we have a pizza crust recipe - and I do love pizza!


Congratulations @bia.birch!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment