Lavender and Cardamom Shortbread Cookies

IMG_20210705_200735.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 115 g margarine (at room temperature)
  • 25 g of powdered sugar
  • 130 g all-purpose flour
  • 0.5 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1.5 teaspoon of ground cardamom
  • a tablepoon of lavender flowers
Preparation:
  1. Beat the margarine with an electric mixer. Add sugar and vanilla extract and whip it until creamy.
    IMG_20210705_182236.jpg
  2. Sift flour, salt and ground cardamom through a sieve into a separate bowl. Mix it together with a tablespoon of chopped lavender flowers.
    IMG_20210705_183110.jpg
  3. Start adding, spoon by spoon, spiced flour to the creamy margarine and combine it together with a spatula, or electric mixer, until getting a crumbly mixture. At this point you should form a ball out of it.
    IMG_20210705_184135.jpg
    We need to be fast at this step, otherwise the margarine will start melting under warm hands and adding more flour to it will create a tough cookie.
  4. Place a ball of dough between two sheets of baking paper and roll it 0.5 centimeters thick.
    IMG_20210705_184823.jpg
    Place rolled dough with baking paper in the freezer for 10 minutes or in a fridge for 30 minutes.
  5. Use a cookie cutter, a glass or a knife to shape your cookies.
    IMG_20210705_191028.jpg
  6. Place them in the preheated oven to 180 ⁰C for about 12-14 minutes.
    IMG_20210705_192716.jpg
    IMG_20210705_195919.jpg
    IMG_20210705_200551.jpg
Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken.

Well done, hope you enjoyed the eating or you sold it.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

We enjoyed them with friends at the afternoon tea time 💚

Oh I just love the idea of cardamom and lavender in a cookie. It's so elegant. Beautiful recipe!

Thank you!
I was a bit unsure how this cookies will taste like, as I was never a big fan of lavender in food and drinks. I love the smell of it, but the flavour was usually too strong for my taste, but this cardamom lavender flavoured cookies really surprised me, the taste is mild and it feels like eating flowers. ☺️

Was there enough lavender to radiate lavender from the oven while you baked these? I wish I had the powers of smell-a-vision!!!


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

That would be the best superpower ever! 😃
At the last few minutes of baking it smelled like flowers in the kitchen ☺️

Congratulations @blackberryskunk!
You were the 2nd Prize winner of the Plant Power Cooking Challenge | Week #15.
I featured your post in the latest -
Plant Power Cooking Challenge | Week #16 | Come Join Us!!.

image.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Delegate II Community II NaturalMedicine.io II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I'm really thankful and honored 😊💚

Awesome idea! I have some lavender in the yard ready for some harvesting, too!

I like to dry it and burn it sometimes in the house, it creates a nice atmosphere of smells.
Also I use it in tea in the evenings (mixed with other herbs), as lavender has a nice effect of calming down and making you sleepy.
A really super useful plant! 💚

Those look delicious! I’m just getting ready to visit family and the have a big lavender plant in the front yard. I think I’m going to have to try this recipe. Thanks for the share. How powerful is the lavender flavor?

Personally, the taste of lavender is too strong for me and I mix it with other herbs or fruits in tea, syrup or jelly. I was surprised that the taste of lavender in these cookies was very mild and I really liked that. It went nicely with the cardamom and the flavor of the biscuit, Im pretty sure I will use more lavender in my desserts from now on.
Dry lavender is also really useful in kitchen cabinets and in wardrobes as they repel moths.