Vegan CBD Brownies | Boost mental health with food

in #naturalmedicine3 years ago (edited)

Today is a special day because small hemp plants have just peeked out of the ground- first time legally on my property.🙏🌱 That's a reason to celebrate!🥳🤠🍪 Wish me luck my friends as everything depends on it right now...and hard work.💪

Many times I watched amazing entries by chefs contesting on Plant Power Cooking Challenge created by @JustinParke.

IMG_20210602_180535_1.jpg

I’ve prepared medical CBD Brownies, but I can’t exactly claim they’re healthy, due to it’s cakey structure. I hope that’s ok by you guys.😁
Usually, medical brownies are traditionally made from cannabutter, which is infused with flowers or leaves into the butter. Since it is not exactly harvest time, I made an extract of dried flowers of hemp- CBD resin, using a Rick Simpson method, which I infused into olive oil. Due to the pleasant taste of the resin (my personal opinion), the brownies really complement the flavor. I added locust bean flour to the dough, which goes well with bitter cocoa. I spiced them up with a hint of coarse salt, vanilla flavor, a blend of grain coffee (roasted barley malt and roasted chicory root) and a fair bite of love for hemp and baking. I enjoy very bitter brownies, so I added only a little sugar and used more raw cocoa powder instead of chocolate. After a pleasant work, we also drank a cup of cereal coffee, with the addition of plant based milk. We also found a few strawberries in the garden and around the forest, great saviors in the case of sugar drop. 🤪

Ingredients:

  • 2 dl cereal coffee blend (I used 1 tablespoon Kneipp- roasted barley malt and one tablespoon of Divka- barley malt and roasted chicory root)
  • 130 g of all-purpose flour
  • 70 g of locust bean flour
  • 120 g of ground flax seeds
  • 40 g of brown sugar
  • a pinch of coarse salt
  • vanilla extract
  • a teaspoon of baking powder
  • 150 g of raw cocoa powder
  • 1 dl of olive oil
  • 2 ml of CBD extract

Preparation:

  1. In a coffee pot, mix 2 deal of cold water and one tablespoon of roasted barley malt (Kneipp) and 1 tablespoon of a mixture of barley malt and roasted chicory root (Divka). Bring to lower heat and simmer, stirring occasionally. Watch out that it doesn't boil over the pot. When it boils, remove from the heat, stir and put back on the stove. Repeat the process twice more, as coffee must boil three times. Set it aside to cool down.
    IMG_20210602_121902_1.jpg
  2. Sip all dry ingredients in a large bowl over a sieve: all-purpose flour, locust bean flour, brown sugar (usually ground in a mortar first), coarse salt, baking powder, raw cacao powder and flax seeds, which are mixed in a coffee grinder or blender. Mix all ingredients evenly.
    IMG_20210602_115449_1.jpg
  3. In a double boiler (water bath), heat the olive oil and add the CBD resin. Stir using a silicone spatula to dissolve the resin and infuse into the oil.
    IMG_20210602_123318_1.jpg
  4. Mix dry and wet ingredients. If the dough is too dry, add some plant based milk to it. Cocoa, locust bean flour, vanilla and hemp are energetically strong medicines.
    We take the time to mix the ingredients with respect, while feeling the energy of the ingredients that were once alive. Therefor I like to use a wooden spoon.
    Stir until the dough becomes smooth and sticky.
    IMG_20210602_125232_1.jpg
  5. Pour the dough into a greased and floured baking tray. Scrape off all the dough from the bowl, with a silicone spatula, as we don't want any precious drop of magic going to waste.
    IMG_20210602_130353_1.jpg
    Push into a preheated oven at 160 ⁰C (325 °F). If we overheat the oven we will destroy a lot of cannabinoids and of course we don’t want that.🧐
    Bake for about 25-30 minutes. Brownies should still be rubbery in the middle, if they are baked for too long they will become dry.
    IMG_20210602_175702_1.jpg
Sort:  

Wish I could make them 💔

I wish that too 💚

Okay, well the CBD infusion was the attention grabber, but roasted chicory root and roasted barley malt too, these aren't your run-of-the-mill brownies by any definition. As always, awesome formatting, photography, and writing.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thank you @justinparke!
I love to drink it during the day, as it's a good substitute for coffee and its sweet, nutty flavour comes out really nice in dark biscuit.
I'm really glad you like the CBD infusion, it's still a bit stigmatised scene about cannabis where I live, but it also seems like to be slowly changing for good 💚

They look tasty 😋

Im a cbd fan to, started a year ago and dont miss thc in anyway🤘

@sketch17 voteandshare

CBD is really a wonderful medicine. It helps me balance...but I still use THC as well. I just love it! 💚

Those look so gooooooood!!

These are genius. They look so fluffy and perfect with very cool ingredients especially the CBD with I have started taking. Since you mentioned it before I picked some up but now I have it with a little THC which I prefer.

I have to start making edibles one day. I have vegan weed cookie in my fridge from a friend but it pretty much is all sugar.

You've got some mad baking skills!

I'm so glad you give it a try! Boosting endokanaboid system can really help us to balance in this mad world...
I've learned a few tricks to make edibles less bitter and for that it doesn't need so much sugar. I use to make butter right after the harvest and the plants I was using contained loads of chlorophyll and that gave it an unpleasant taste and its a bit hard on the digestive system for some people. It's not toxic, but we usually want to get rid of it to really get out a nice cannabis taste.We can do that with curing the plants for about three months. And later on we don't need to use a lot of sugar or chocolate to hide the bitterness.
I personally like to use extracts more, as I have more control with the infusion of the compounds in the plant, also it can be cured really fast under the UV light.
Thank you @carolynstahl 💚

You know I really don't mind the taste it's just that I have never made edibles before. I am not sure in this city where we just go to the weed store, what exactly to ask for to make edibles. Last night I really needed to finally sleep so I took extra cbd/thc, low on the thc but I finished a piece of weed sugar cookie.
I have no more cookie now but I really feel like a million bucks this morning.

I'm glad that the cookie helped :)
I don't know exactly what kind of products are available at your local stores, but anything like CBD and TCH resin or infused oil drops. You can use both of them according to your dosage. You can just infuse them in your fats (as I did in the water bath) that you would like to use in your edibles according your recipe (butter or oil). I love to infuse it into coconut butter and make butter cookies with full potency.
You could also make your own cannabutter out of flowers or leaves. It can be done in two ways.
One is to infuse and decarb it at the same time (decarboxylation- its a process of heating up to a certain degree, to activate the wanted cannabinoid).
You would need to grind your material and place it in a pot, cover with water just that the material is submerged and put in the amount of butter according to what kind of potency of the butter you would like to get. Cook it on the lowest heat and mix string many times in the process. It would usually take a few hours to finish the process. Simmer it slowly as we don't want to destroy the cannabinoids. Filter it using cheesecloth and place it in the fridge until the butter splits from the water.
Another way is to decarboxylate your grinded material in the oven on 115°C for about 30-40 minutes. For that you would need kitchen thermometer, as the oven can overheat. After baking you would need to mix it with butter and cook it in a slow cooker for four hours.
Another option is to make infused herb oil. For that you would again bake your desired strain and dip it into oil with other herbs you like. I like to use a dark bottle for that. Place it in a cold dark place for 3 moths. After that filter it and you will get a tasty medicinal oil.

There are so many ways to use cannabis in food its amazing, I just wish I could be able to do it more :)

yumyum to any brownies :D that last pic is 🔥🔥

Thank you 💚

Congratulations @blackberryskunk!
You were the winner of the Plant Power Cooking Challenge | Week #10. I featured your post in the latest -
Plant Power Cooking Challenge | Week #11 | Come Join Us!!.

image.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Delegate II Community II NaturalMedicine.io II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io